

## Symposia Summary Ultrafine Grained Materials VII

Organizers: Suveen Mathaudhu (U.S. Army Research Office, USA), Xiaoxu Huang (Risø DTU, Denmark), Hyoung Seop Kim (POSTECH, Korea), Terence Langdon (University of Southern California, USA), Terry Lowe (Manhattan Scientifics, Inc. USA), Ruslan Valiev (Ufa State Aviation Technical University, Russia), Xiaolei Wu (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China), and Michael Zehetbauer (University of Vienna, Austria)

The Seventh International Symposium on Ultrafine Grained Materials (UFG-VII) was an outstanding success and, as in earlier years, attracted more abstracts than any other TMS symposium. Presentations were made from attendees from 25 countries on all aspects of science and technology of ultrafine grained (UFG) and nanocrystalline materials. Specialized sessions were held on conventional and emerging technologies and advancements, fundamental issues in severe plastic deformation (SPD) processing and SPD-processed materials, UFG and nanocrystalline microstructure evolution, mechanical and physical properties, deformation mechanisms, superplasticity, joining and bonding, computational and analytical modeling, structural and functional applications, and thermal stability. Selected peer-reviewed papers from the symposium will be presented in forthcoming special issue of the *Journal of Materials Science*.

Newer sessions that were highly successful included those on deformation mechanisms, powder metallurgy, and thermally stable nanomaterials, but a clear success was the Young Scientist session which focused on the research accomplishments of students and scientists within three years of receiving their doctoral degrees. This session proved to be very popular and well-attended, with an average of ~50 people per talk. Awards for this session, along with awards for best poster presentation were presented to the young scientists at the close of the symposium. Awards for this session, along with awards for best posters, were presented to the young scientists at the close of the symposium. For the posters, the Gold Medal winner was Maki Ashida (Kyushu University, Japan) and the Silver Medal winner was Stephanie Hunger (Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany). For the oral presentations, the Gold Medal winner was Philipp Frint (Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany) and the Silver Medal winners were Jacob Kidmose (Risø DTU, Denmark), Mert Efe (Purdue University, U.S.A.) and Christian Schmidt (Erlangen University, Germany).

--Submitted by Suveen Mathaudhu