DRC TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE 2005

GENERAL CHAIR

Alan Seabaugh University of Notre Dame EE Dept. 266 Fitzpatrick Hall Notre Dame, IN 46556-5637 Phone: 574-631-4473 Fax: 574-631-4393 Email: seabaugh.1@nd.edu

TECHNICAL PROGRAM CHAIR

Theresa Mayer Penn State University 230 Electrical Engineering West University Park, PA 16802 Phone: 814-863-8458 Fax: 814-865-7065 Email: tsm2@email.psu.edu

TECHNICAL PROGRAM VICE CHAIR Bobby Brar

Rockwell Scientific Company 1049 Camino Dos Rios Thousand Oaks, CA 91358-0085 Phone: 805-373-4709 Fax: 805-373-4860 Email: bbrar@rwsc.com

LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS CHAIR

Elliott Brown University of California – Santa Barbara Eng. Science Bldg, Room 2205G Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9560 Phone: 805-893-7562 Fax: 805-893-3262 Email: erbroom@ece.ucsb.edu

TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Joerg Appenzeller, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center Paul Baude, 3M Company Andy Bryant, IBM Jing Guo, University of Florida Augusto Gutierrez-Aitken, Northrop Grumman Space Technology Pranav Kalavade, Intel Roger Lake, University of California, Riverside Mike Larson, Agility Communication, Inc. Lynn Loo, University of Texas at Austin John O'Brien, University of Southern California Alberto Salleo, Palo Alto Research Center Nitin Samarth, Penn State University Tetsuya Suemitsu, NTT Photonics Laboratories Lars Erik Wernersson, Lund University H.-S. Philip Wong, Stanford University Yifeng Wu, CREE Santa Barbara Technology Center John Zolper, DARPA/MTO

TREASURER Tom Jackson, Penn State University

PAST CHAIR Pallab Bhattacharya, University of Michigan

Announcement of the 63rd Annual





June 20-22, 2005

CALL FOR PAPERS

Abstract Deadline: March 24, 2005 Late News Deadline: June 4, 2005

> General Information: www.tms.org/DRC.html

Abstract Submission: www.deviceresearchconference.org



The DRC brings together scientists, engineers, and students to present breakthroughs and advances in device research. DRC is sponsored by the IEEE, Electron Devices Society. The conference will be held at the University of California, Santa Barbara, CA from Monday, June 20 through Wednesday, June 22, 2005.

The DRC will be coordinated with the EMC (Electronic Materials Conference) during the same week, June 22-24, 2005, at the University of California. The coordinated efforts are made in recognition of the strong interaction between device and electronic materials research and provides for fruitful exchange of information between attendees of both conferences. For further information about the EMC, see www.tms. org/EMC.html.

PLENARY AND INVITED SPEAKERS

Plenary and invited speakers will present the latest developments in emerging device technologies including organic devices, quantum devices, spin devices, phase change memory, wide bandgap devices, optical devices, power devices, carbon nanotube devices, scaled Si and SiGe devices, III-V transistors, and devices fabricated using nanoparticles, nanowires, and atomically thin carbon films

Plenary Speakers:

Alan Heeger (University of California, Santa Barbara) Federico Capasso (Harvard University) Supriyo Datta (Purdue University)

Partial List of Invited Speakers:

Greg Atwood (Intel) Alain Cappy (IEMN) Larry Coldren (University of California, Santa Barbara) James Cooper (Purdue University) Kazukiyo Joshin (Fujitsu) Philip Kim (Columbia University) Victor Klimov (Los Alamos) Joachim Knoch (Research Center, Juelich) Michael McGehee (Stanford University) Lars Samuelson (Lund University) Seshadri Subbanna (IBM) Zikang Tan (Hong Kong University)

POSTER AND RUMP SESSIONS

Building on the success of poster sessions in previous years, abstracts will again be accepted for poster presentations at DRC 2005. In the DRC tradition, rump sessions will continue to provide a forum for frank discussion of contentious topics in device research and applications.

BEST STUDENT PAPER AWARD

Papers presented by students, based on their own research, are eligible for this annual award. The abstract must be identified as a "Student Paper" during the submission process to be eligible for this award.

CALL FOR PAPERS

Authors are requested to see the DRC website, www.deviceresearchconference.org for paper submission instructions, or contact Theresa Mayer, Technical Program Chair. Abstracts sent by facsimile will not be accepted.

Abstracts submitted to DRC may not be submitted to EMC.

ABSTRACT DEADLINE: March 24, 2005

FURTHER INFORMATION

Note: Registration and Housing information will be available in April 2005.

Early registration is encouraged with a reduced registration fee offered as an incentive. Students will also receive a reduced registration fee. Limited travel funds are available to students presenting papers. Further information on student assistance will be available on the conference website, www.deviceresearchconference.org. PAPERS ARE SOLICITED ON HIGH PERFORMANCE AND NOVEL DEVICES INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE FOLLOWING:



- Amorphous and polycrystalline devices
- Biological device concepts
- Carbon nanotube devices
- Device modeling
- Device reliability
- Display and imaging devices
- III-V FET and bipolar transistors
- Flexible electronics
- Integrated optoelectronics
- O Lasers, LEDs, and optical amplifiers
- Magnetic devices
- O Micro/nanoelectromechanical devices
- Millimeter wave and ultrafast devices
- Molecular devices
- Nanofabrication technology for devices
- Nanophotonic and photonic bandgap devices
- Nanoscale devices
- Nonvolatile, static, and dynamic memory
- Organic emitters and transistors
- Photodetectors
- Power devices
- Quantum-effect and single-electron devices
- Self-assembled devices
- Sensors
- SiGe and Si CMOS/BiCMOS
- Scaled Si devices
- SOI and 3-D devices
- Spin-based devices
- Superconducting devices
- Terahertz emitters and detectors
- Thin film transistors
- Tunable photonic devices
- Tunneling and hot-electron devices
- Wide-bandgap devices

184 THORN HILL ROAD WARRENDALE, PA 15086-7514 USA

www.tms.org