The TMS Board of Directors is made up of minerals, metals, and materials scientists and engineers who are respected in their professions and elected by their peers to serve the Society. Meet the current TMS Board members who are helping the Society fulfill its mission and setting the course for future endeavors.

David DeYoung
TMS President
Director of R&D, Breakthrough Technology, Alcoa
Term: 03/02/2017 - 04/01/2018
Stanley Howard
TMS Past President
Professor Emeritus, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Term: 03/02/2017 - 04/01/2018
Kevin Hemker
TMS Vice President
Professor and Chair, Johns Hopkins University
Term: 03/02/2017 - 04/01/2018
Joy Forsmark
TMS Financial Planning Officer
Technical Expert, Light Cast Metals, Ford Motor Company
Term: 02/01/2015 - 04/01/2018
James Robinson
TMS Secretary/Executive Director
Executive Director, TMS
Cynthia Belt
TMS Director/Chair, Extraction & Processing Division
Energy Management Consultant, Metals Energy Management LLC
Term: 03/02/2017 - 04/01/2020
Raymundo Arroyave
TMS Director/Chair, Functional Materials Division
Professor, Texas A & M University
Term: 03/02/2017 - 04/01/2020
Chester Van Tyne
TMS Director, Professional Development
Professor Emeritus, Colorado School of Mines
Term: 03/02/2017 - 04/01/2020
Michele Manuel
TMS Director/Chair, Content Development & Dissemination
Professor, University of Florida
Term: 03/02/2017 - 04/01/2020
Corbett Battaile
TMS Director/Chair, Materials Processing & Manufacturing Division
Principal Member, Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories
Term: 02/17/2016 - 04/01/2019
Amy Clarke
TMS Director/Chair, Member & Student Development
Associate Professor, Colorado School of Mines
Term: 02/01/2015 - 04/01/2018
Ellen Cerreta
TMS Director/Chair, Structural Materials Division
Deputy Division Leader, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Term: 02/17/2016 - 04/01/2019
Srinivas Chada
TMS Director/Chair, Programming
Senior Principal Engineer, Stryker
Term: 02/01/2015 - 04/01/2018
Alan Luo
TMS Director/Chair, Light Metals Division
Professor & Director, Ohio State University
Term: 02/17/2016 - 04/01/2019
John Howarter
TMS Director/Chair, Public & Governmental Affairs
Assistant Professor, Purdue University
Term: 03/02/2017 - 04/01/2020

Past TMS Presidents

View the photo gallery of Past TMS Presidents from 1957 to the present.

For More Information

For more information on TMS volunteer leaders, visit the Divisions & Committees pages or contact