

AIME ROBERT LANSING HARDY, APPLICATION TO PRACTICE, CYRIL STANLEY SMITH, AND OLEG D. SHERBY AWARDS SUBCOMMITTEE BYLAWS

Purpose Statement: According to the rules established for these awards, the committee will recommend to the TMS Honors & Professional Recognition Committee:

- 1. a nominee for the AIME Robert Lansing Hardy Award
- 2. a nominee for the Application to Practice Award
- 3. a nominee for the Cyril Stanley Smith Award
- 4. a nominee for the Oleg D. Sherby Award

Procedures: June thru September, this award committee will review nominations and make selections. The committee may propose one candidate each year for each award assigned. (Award(s) may be withheld any given year if none of the candidates is deemed deserving.) A nomination will remain in effect for three years provided it meets criteria for the award each year unless withdrawn by the Society, but additional nominations may be made annually. The committee chairperson shall present to the TMS Honors & Professional Recognition Committee the award recipients of the various awards approved by this committee, together with appropriate and adequate support documentation. The results of committee deliberations shall be kept confidential until the award recipients have been approved by the TMS BOD and notified by the TMS Awards Administrator. Awards are presented at the TMS Annual Meeting.

Structure: The subcommittee shall consist of a chairperson and six members. Care should be exercised to keep adequate representation of industry, academia and the national laboratories in selecting the award committee members. No more than two members may be prior recipients of the awards. All members, including the chairperson, are to be appointed by the TMS Vice President. Except in special circumstances, the chair shall have already served on the subcommittee for two years. The subcommittee shall recommend subcommittee member candidates to replace those with expiring terms.

Term of Office:

Chair: 1 year Member: 3 years TMS views committee membership as a benefit and therefore requires that TMS committee members be TMS members in good standing. Membership on this committee should be kept confidential.

Meeting Schedule: The subcommittee shall meet at such times as deemed necessary to conduct its business in a timely and effective manner.

Financial Statement Financial arrangements and the operating budget of the subcommittee shall be subject to approval by the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors. In the event of either dissolution or merger of TMS, the funds earmarked or pledged for the awards shall revert to a special account of TMS to be held until such time that suitable arrangements for presentation of similar awards can be negotiated.

AIME ROBERT LANSING HARDY AWARD (Partially funded by AIME)

Criteria: This award recognizes a young person in the broad fields of metallurgy or materials science for their exceptional promise of a successful career, rather than for any specific accomplishment. The candidate may not reach his/her 35th birthday by December 31 of the year in which the initial nomination is made. The broad fields of metallurgy and materials science include minerals processing, extractive, physical or adaptive metallurgy, and metal processing. Candidate must be a member of TMS.

Description: Established by Dr. Arthur C. Hardy, this award is in memory of his son, Robert Lansing Hardy, a young man of great promise in the field of physical metallurgy and Junior Member of AIME, who died suddenly at the age of 25. The award, funded by AIME, consists of the Hardy Medal, an engraved plate in a walnut frame and a \$500 cash award donated by Ford Motor Company through the TMS Foundation.

Requirements: Completed nomination form. Current biography or curriculum vitae with publication list. Minimum of two, maximum of five, letters of endorsement are required.

APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AWARD

Criteria: Demonstrated outstanding achievement in transferring research results or findings in some aspect of the fields of metallurgy and materials into commercial production and practical use as a representative of an industrial, academic, governmental, or technical organization.

Description: This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in transferring research results or findings into commercial production and practical use. Candidates whose technological accomplishments are clearly commercialized and candidates whose technology is in the transfer stage shall be equally eligible for this award. All other factors being equal, preference should be given to members of TMS. The award consists of a black marble pinnacle. Recipients of this award may also be eligible for Acta Materialia Gold Medal, AIME Honorary Membership, Fellow, William Hume-Rothery, and IOM/Mehl.

Requirements: Completed nomination form. Current biography or curriculum vitae with publication list. Minimum of two, maximum of five, letters of endorsement are required.

CYRIL STANLEY SMITH AWARD

Criteria: (1) Must have an established record of research, publications, and/or patents in the field of materials structure. (2) Recognizes the quality and relevance of work that has had or is likely to have a significant and lasting impact on the development of the discipline. (3) May honor a single, significant achievement or a larger body of work.

Description: This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials structure. Prior recipients of the award are not eligible, even if they have made significant new contributions after the award was first given. Life membership to TMS shall be awarded in September. Recipients of this award may be eligible for Acta Materialia Gold Medal, AIME Honorary Membership, Fellow, William Hume-Rothery, and IOM/Mehl.

Requirements: Completed nomination form. Current biography or curriculum vitae with publication list. Minimum of two, maximum of five, letters of endorsement are required.

OLEG D. SHERBY AWARD

Criteria:

- 1. Must have an established record or research and publications in the field of high temperature behavior of materials.
- 2. The work has had, or will have, a major impact on the understanding of the behavior of materials at high temperature.
- 3. The award may recognize a single major insight, or alternatively, may recognize a significant body of work.
- 4. The award will typically be given to an individual, but could be given to a small group of collaborators.

Description: This award recognizes an individual, or small group of collaborators, who has made significant contributions to the understanding of the behavior of materials at high temperatures. The award includes a cash component of \$5,000, as well as a medal and a certificate. (If the award goes to a group of collaborators, the medal will go to the leader, however, all in the group will receive a certificate.)

Requirements: A completed nomination form must be submitted by April 1 of each year along with the nominator's supporting statement, an abbreviated resume or curriculum vitae, and a minimum of two, maximum of five, letters of endorsement/recommendation

Funding Plan: Bestowing the Oleg D. Sherby Award will involve a donation of \$120,000 to the TMS Foundation. The award will consist of a \$5,000 prize plus a medal and certificate. To support the presentation of this award in perpetuity, the accompanying gift to the TMS Foundation would be \$120,000. Of that, \$100,000 will support the cash award; \$10,000 will support the administration of the award; and \$10,000 will be a gift to the Foundation's unrestricted fund.

Support Statement: As this award is endowed by Dr. Jeffrey Wadsworth through the TMS Foundation, the award description and associated promotional literature should

reference, "Presentation of this award is sponsored by a gift to the TMS Foundation from Jeffrey Wadsworth of Battelle".