YOUR MEMBER CONNECTION

Meet the TMS members who have contributed to or are featured in this issue of JOM.

To join the TMS network, visit www.tms.org/Society/Membership.aspx.

TMS

JOM AUTHORS AND ADVISORS

Diran Apelian is Howmet



Professor of Engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Director of the Metal Processing Institute at the university. He is a Fellow of TMS, ASM In-

ternational, APMI International, and the National Academy of Engineering. He earned his Ph.D. in 1972 at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Apelian joined TMS in 1986 and was 2008 TMS president. *Page 57*.

K.S. Ravi Chandran is a professor



in the Department of Metallurgical Engineering at the University of Utah. He earned his Ph.D. in 1988 in Materials Science and Engineering at the Indian Institute

of Science, Bangalore. Dr. Chandran joined TMS in 1989, and in 2006 was the recipient of the society's Champion Mathewson Award. He is the author of more than 100 publications. *Page 85*.

Robert V. Gansert is President of



Advanced Materials & Technology Services, Inc. He earned his Ph.D. in 1996 in Materials Science & Engineering at the State University of New York at Stony

Brook. Dr. Gansert, now a full member, joined TMS as a student member in 1992 and was the recipient of the 1993 TMS Scholarship Award. *Page 65*.

Nikhil Gupta is associate professor



in the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department at the Polytechnic Institute of New York University. He earned his Ph.D. in 2003 in Mechanical Engineering at Louisi-

ana State University. Dr. Gupta joined TMS in 1997 and organized several symposia at the MS&T conferences in 2008, 2009, and 2010. Active in demonstrating the public relevance of the materials science research, Dr. Gupta has done videos for Scientific American, the Discovery Channel, and has appeared on WNBC news. *Pages 36*, 48, 53.

Pierre Homsi



Homsi is a technology consultant retired from Rio Tinto Alcan where he was the director of AP Technology Sales. He earned his Ph.D. in 1975 in Electrochemistry at Paris 6 University. Dr. Homsi has

been a member of TMS for almost 20 years and has served as the Aluminum Committee advisor to *JOM*. He has also presented a number of papers at TMS meetings since 1979 and chaired numerous Reduction sessions at the Annual Meetings. *Page 2*.

Duong D. Luong is a Ph.D.



candidate at the Polytechnic Institute of New York University, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department. He earned his Master's Degree in 2007 in Mechanical Engi-

neering at Hanoi University of Technology. Mr. Luong became a TMS member in 2010. *Pages 36, 48, 53.*

Michael W. Peretti is senior staff



engineer at GE Aviation in Newark, Delaware. He earned his M.S. degree in 1999 in Materials Science at the University of Pittsburgh. Mr. Peretti has been a

member of TMS for almost 20 years and has served as the Titanium Committee advisor to *JOM* for the past 5 years. *Page 2*.

Pradeep K. Rohatgi is Wisconsin



and UWM distinguished Professor and Director of the Centers of Composites and Advanced Materials Manufacture at the University of Wisconsin-Milwau-

kee. He earned his Ph.D. in 1964 in Materials Science & Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Rohatgi is a 50-year member of TMS and has served on the Solidification and Composites committees. In 2006, TMS organized the Rohatgi Honorary Symposium on Solidification Processing of Metal Matrix Composites in recognition of his accomplishments. Rohatgi is a fellow of several professional organizations as well as a consultant to several industries, the government of India, and the United Nations. *Pages 36, 48, 53.*

Biplab Sarma is a graduate research assistant in the Department of Metallurgical Engineering at the University of Utah. Mr. Sarma earned his B.E. in 2003 in Metallurgical Engineering at the National Institute of Technology, Trichy, India. Mr. Sarma has been a member of TMS since 2008 and was a participant in the Materials Bowl competition at the TMS 2009 Annual Meet-

ing in San Francisco. In his leisure time Mr. Sarma likes to play tennis and read historic novels. Page 85.

Benjamin F. Schultz is a postdoctor-



al research fellow at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. He earned his Ph.D. in 2009 in Materials Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Dr. Schultz joined TMS in 2010. Page 36.

Yuyuan Zhao is a reader in



the School of Engineering as well as director M.Sc. (Eng) Programs (Advanced Engineering Materials, Advanced Manufcturing Systems Technology,

and Product Design and Management) at the University of Liverpool. He earned his Ph.D. in 1996 in Materials at the University of Oxford. Dr. Zhao, who is the ASM/TMS Composite Materials Committee advisor to JOM, joined TMS in 2008. He organized a symposium (Advances and Sustainability of Composite, Cellular and Natural Materials) at the TMS 2010 Annual Meeting. Pages 35, 43.

OTHER MEMBERS FEATURED IN THIS ISSUE

John Agren, p. 3

Antoine Allanore, The Young Leader Edouard Asselin, The Young Leader

Daniel Bairos, Professional Preface Ross Baldock, p. 3

Frank Balle, The Young Leader

Cindy Belt, p. 30

Srikanth Bontha, The Young Leader

David L. Bourell, p. 3

Patrick Bowen, Professional Preface

Dincer Bozkaya, The Young Leader

Kyle S. Brinkman, The Young Leader

Markus Buehler, p. 3

Y. Austin Chang, p. 3

Krishan Chawla, p. 3 Long-Qing Chen, p. 3

Sinn-wen Chen, p. 3

Nitin Chopra, The Young Leader Samrat Choudhury, The Young Leader

Lisa Deibler, Professional Preface

Frank W. DelRio, The Young Leader

Heike S. Emmerich, The Young Leader Rachel Ferebee, Professional Preface

Dimitrios Filippou, p. 3

Adam Gesing, p. 3

George T. "Rusty" Gray III, pp. 3, 19

Julia Greer, The Young Leader

James Cameron Haley, Professional Preface

Darrell R. Herling, p. 30

Kazuhiro Hono, p. 3

Mark F. Horstmeyer, p. 100

Stanley Howard, p. 3

Shenyan Huang, Professional Preface

Warren Hunt, Jr. p. 3

William Imrie, p. 3

Sushant K. Jha, p. 3

Wayne J. Jones, p. 3

Abraham Jurovitzki, Professional Preface

Christopher Kinney, p. 3

Halvor Kvande, p. 3

Anne Kvithyld, pp. 3, 26

Diana Lados, p. 3

James M. Larsen, p. 3

John J. Lewandowski, p. 30

Lorentz Petter Lossius, p. 3

Carolyn Meyers, p. 100

Marc A. Meyers, p. 3

Amit Misra, p. 3

Bodil E. Monsen, p. 3

J.W. Morris, p. 3

Ryan Morrison, Professional Preface

Dmitri Nassyrov, Professional Preface

Subhadarshi Nayak, The Young Leader Ryan Need, Professional Preface

Stephen Pearton, p. 3

Ray Peterson, p. 26

Nayomi Z. Plaza Rodriquez, Professional

Preface

Tresa Pollock, p. 3

Ben Poquette, The Young Leader

Shriram Ramanatha, p. 3

Arne Petter Ratvik, p. 3

Ramana Reddy, p. 30

Michael Renkoski, Professional Preface

Benjamin Revard, Professional Preface Anthony D. Rollett, p. 3

Teneil Kay Ryno, Professional Preface

Eric D. Schmidt, The Young Leader

David Seidman, p. 3

Dongwon Shin, The Young Leader

Alpesh Shulka, The Young Leader

Christopher J. Szczepanski, p. 3

Dan Thoma, p. 3

Brian Thomas, p. 3

Gregory Thompson, The Young Leader

Larry G. Twidwell, p. 3

Kinga Unocic, The Young Leader

Vivek Verma, p. 3

Peter W. Vorhees, p. 3

Cong Wang, The Young Leader

Garry Warren, p. 18

Mohamad Zbib, Professional Preface

Min Zhou, p. 3

Steven Zinkle, pp. 3, 30



Interested in adding value to your TMS membership?

Discover the benefits of joining TMS committees or engaging in other volunteer activities. Log in to our members only website http://members.tms.org - click on the "Get Involved" tab, and then complete the volunteer interest form to receive more information!

While you're logged in, take this opportunity to continue to grow with TMS by renewing your 2011 membership if you haven't done so already. We look forward to continuing to serve your professional needs in 2011 and beyond.