2004 TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition: TMS - AIME Dinner and Awards Presentation

March 14–18 · 2004 TMS ANNUAL MEETING · Charlotte, North Carolina


Dan J. Thoma
Gregory J. Hildeman

Dan J. Thoma
2003 TMS President

Gregory J. Hildeman
2004 TMS President

Robert Wagoner

Robert Freas

Robert Wagoner
2003 AIME President

Robert Freas
2004 AIME President

The combined TMS and AIME Dinner and Awards Presentations will be held at 7:00 PM, Tuesday, March 16, 2004 at the Westin Charlotte Hotel. The highlight of the TMS 2004 Annual Meeting will begin with a cash bar reception at 6:00 PM and dinner at 7:00 PM. A presentation and recognition of the Society and Institute award recipients will be followed by the annual address to the Society by 2003 President Dan J. Thoma, who will then introduce Gregory J. Hildeman, the 2004 President.

Gregory Hildeman is currently the Manager of the Ingot and Solidification Platform. In this position, Greg is responsible for leading Alcoa’s worldwide Ingot Technology activities in the areas of recycling, melting, metal treatment, casting and solidification. His technical interests include spray deposition, aluminum powder metallurgy and rapid solidification, focusing on processing/microstructure/property relationships and development of dispersion-strengthened elevated temperature alloys and high-strength 7XXX aluminum alloys for commercial aerospace applications. Dr. Hildeman earned his B.S. and M.S. in Metallurgical Engineering from the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; and a Sc.D. in Metallurgy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

He has been a member of TMS since 1981. He recently served as the TMS Financial Planning Officer after serving several years on the Financial Planning Committee and as a member of the Public and Governmental Affairs Committee. He has also served as chair of the Powder Metallurgy Committee, as JOM advisor, and as a member of the Publications Coordinating Committee.

Banquet tickets are $60 and may be purchased at the TMS Registration desk. Tickets will NOT be sold at the door.


Fellow Class of 2004
Michael Baskes, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Robert Ritchie, University of California
John Perepezko, University of Wisconsin
Ronald Gibala, University of Michigan
Tai-Gang Nieh, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

John Bardeen Award
Russell D. Dupuis, Georgia Institute of Technology

Bruce Chalmers Award
John Campbell, University of Birmingham

Distinguished Service Award
Robert Wagoner, The Ohio State University

Educator Award
Subhash Mahajan, Arizona State University

Robert Lansing Hardy Award
Christopher Schuh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

William Hume-Rothery Award
Hubert Aaronson, Carnegie Mellon University

Institute of Metals Lecturer & Robert F. Mehl Medalist
William L. Johnson, California Institute of Technology

Leadership Award
Robert Reynik, National Science Foundation

Champion H. Mathewson Award
Rohit K. Trivedi, Iowa State University
Prantik Mazumder, Corning Inc.
Surendra Tewari, Cleveland State University

Shri Ram Arora Award
Anish Kumar, Bhabha Atomic Resesarch Center


Aluminum Distinguished Service Award
Euel Cutshall, Alcoa

Extractive Processing Lecturer
John Floyd, Ausmelt Limited

Extractive Processing Science Award
Evgueni Jak, University of Queensland
Peter C. Hayes, University of Queensland

Extractive Processing Technology Award
S. Vaisburd, posthumously, retired from Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
D. G. Brandon, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
S. Kozhakhmetov, Institute of Metallurgy and Ore Benefication
E. Kenzhaliyev, Institute of Metallurgy and Ore Benefication

Light Metals Technical Service Award
Michel Reverdy, Pechiney Group

Light Metals Award
Henrik Gudbrandsen, SINTEF
Nolan Richards, Richards & Associates
Sverre Rolseth, SINTEF
Jomar Thonstad, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Light Metals JOM Award
Saad El-Raghy, Cairo University
Zaki Bassiony, Aluminum Company of Egypt

Structural Materials Distinguished Science/Engineer Award
Gregory B. Olson, Northwestern University


Environmental Conservation Distinguished Service Award
Nickolas J. Themelis, Columbia University

Frank F. Aplan Award
Larry G. Twidwell, Montana Tech

James Douglas Gold Medal
James W. Evans, University of California, Berkeley

Mineral Industry Education Award
Stanley M. Howard, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology



The information on this page is maintained by the TMS Meetings Department (

Search Conference Management System 2004 Annual Meeting Meetings Page TMS OnLine