TMS Logo

1999 TMS Dinner and Awards Presentations

February 28-March 4 · 1999 TMS ANNUAL MEETING · San Diego, California

1999 TMS Annual Meeting Logo
During the week of February 28-March 4, 1999, the 128th Annual Meeting & Exhibition of The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) will be held in San Diego, California at the San Diego Convention Center.

Euel R. Cutshall
Euel R. Cutshall
1998 TMS President

The Annual TMS Dinner and Awards Presentations will be held at 7:00 p.m., Tuesday, March 2, 1999 at the San Diego Marriott Hotel and Marina. The highlight of the TMS Annual Meeting will begin with a cash bar reception at 6:00 p.m. and dinner at 7:00 p.m.

Tickets may be purchased either in advance through the TMS Advance Registration Form or at the meeting registration desk.

Presentation and recognition of the Society and Technical Division awards recipients will be followed by the annual address to the Society by 1998 President Euel R. Cutshall, who will then introduce J. Wayne Jones, the 1999 President.

J. Wayne Jones
J. Wayne Jones
1999 TMS President
About Our Next President
J. Wayne Jones is Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education in the College of Engineering and a professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan. He earned his B.S. in Engineering Physics at Western Kentucky University in 1971 and his M.S. and Ph.D. in Materials Science at Vanderbilt University in 1973 and 1976, respectively. Prior to joining the staff of the University of Michigan, Dr. Jones served as a postdoctoral associate for the National Research Council of the U.S. Air Force Materials Laboratory. While at the University of Michigan, he has also served as a visiting scientist at the U.S. Air Force Materials Laboratory and Wright Laboratory.

He is currently participating in a four-university consortium (Ohio State University, Michigan State University, University of Michigan, and Carnegie Mellon University) for the Air Force Office of Scientific Research on gamma titanium aluminides. Other current research activities include the synthesis and mechanical properties of micro-laminate coatings for the National Science Foundation and creep and stress relaxation behavior of magnesium alloys for the Ford University Research Fund. He also recently concluded research on creep and fatigue of advanced automotive engine materials for Ford Motor Company and the acquisition of a mechanical properties microprobe for the National Science Foundation. He has published numerous journal and conference articles.

A member of TMS since 1978, Dr. Jones has served at the Board level since 1990. He has been the TMS financial planning officer, chair of the Student Affairs Committee, a member of the TMS Foundation Board of Directors, and president of the Detroit Section.

Fellow Class of 1999
Subhash Mahajan, Arizona State University
Jagdish Narayan, North Carolina State University
Vaclev Vitek, University of Pennsylvania
Application to Practice Award
Wayne Hayden, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
John Bardeen Award
Lionel C. Kimerling, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Bruce Chalmers Award
Sam R. Coriell, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Distinguished Service Award
Gerald L. Liedl, Purdue University
William A.T. Clark, The Ohio State University
Educator Award
Merton C. Flemings, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Robert Lansing Hardy Award
Yuri Suzuki, Cornell University
William Hume-Rothery Award
Mats Hillert, Royal Institute of Technology
Institute of Metals Lecturer & Robert F. Mehl Medalist
T.S. Kê, Institute of Solid State Physics
Leadership Award
Reza Abbaschian, University of Florida
Champion H. Mathewson Award
William J. Boettinger, National Institute of Standards and Technology
James Warren, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Extraction & Processing Distinguished Lecture Award
Claude H.P. Lupis, Claude Lupis and Associates Pty. Ltd.
Extraction & Processing Science Award
(To be announced)
Extraction & Processing Technology Award
(To be announced)
Light Metals Division JOM Best Paper Award
(To be announced)
Light Metals Award 1998
P.V. Evans, Alcan International Ltd.
Alice M. Bunn, University of Cambridge
A. Lindsay Greer, University of Cambridge
David Bristow, London & Scandanavian Metallurgical Co., Ltd.
Light Metals Technical Service Award
Ernest W. Dewing, Retired
Structural Materials Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award
Reza Abbaschian, University of Florida

The information on this page is maintained by the TMS Customer Service Center (

Search TMS Honors Program 1999 TMS Annual Meeting Meetings Page TMS OnLine