12th International Conference on Metal Organic Vapor Phase Epitaxy

May 30-June 4, 2004 · 12th International Conference on Metal Organic Vapor Phase Epitaxy · Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii


The Twelfth International Conference on Metal Organic Vapor Phase Epitaxy (ICMOVPE-XII) will be held May 30 through June 4, 2004 at the Westin Maui Hotel, Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii. The conference builds upon the strong tradition of previous conferences of presenting the latest advances in science, technology and applications of MOVPE and related growth techniques. The objective of the conference is to bring together a wide spectrum of specialists from Industry, Commerce, Academia, and National Laboratories to present their most recent progress in the fundamental and applied aspects of MOVPE technology. The program is designed to provide a wide range of opportunities for formal and informal discussions of and presentations on all topics, including but not limited to the following:

  • Basic growth studies
  • Surface physics and chemistry
  • In-situ probes
  • Gallium nitride based materials and devices
  • Indium phosphide based materials
  • Gallium arsenide based materials
  • High brightness LEDs and solid state lighting
  • Growth of device structures: LEDs, laser diodes, FETs
  • Low dimensional structures patterned growth and selective epitaxy
  • Mid-infrared materials/gallium antimonide based materials
  • New materials: II-V oxides dielectrics, ferroelectric
  • Real time monitoring and process control
  • Production and safety issues
  • Dilute nitride semiconductors
  • Growth and doping mechanisms
  • Reactor modeling


Meeting Services
184 Thorn Hill Road
Warrendale, PA 15086 USA
Tel: (724) 776-9000 x243 • Fax: (724) 776-3700

or, complete the TMS Upcoming Meetings Mailing List Form to receive additional information about this meeting.


Conference Chair:
Steven DenBaars, Chair
University of California
Building 504, Room 1347A
Materials Department
College of Engineering
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5050
Phone: (805) 893-8511

Publications Chairs:
Gerald B. Stringfellow
University of Utah
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
50 S. Central Campus Dr., Rm. 3280 MEB
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-9206
Phone: (801) 581-8387

Robert M. Biefeld
Sandia National Laboratories
P.O. Box 5800, MS 0601
Albuquerque, NM 87185
Phone: 505-844-1556
Program Chairs:
Thomas T. Kuech
University of Wisconsin
4629 Engineering Hall
1415 Engineering Drive
Madison, WI 53706-1691
Phone: (608) 263-2922

James J. Coleman
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
268 Microelectronics Laboratory
208 North Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: (217) 333-2555


Christine Wang
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Rajaram Bhat
Corning, Inc.

Ron Moon
Agilent Headquarters

Bob Biefeld
Sandia National Laboratories
Stacia Keller
University of California, Santa Barbara

P. Dan Dapkus
University of Southern California

Russel Dupuis
University of Texas, Austin

Shuji Nakamura
University of California, Santa Barbara


H. Amano
Meijo University, Japan

R. Bhat
Corning, USA

T. Fukui
Hokkaido University, Japan

T. Kuech
University of Wisconsin, USA

M. Leys
IMEC, Belgium

A. Mircea
EPFL, Lausanne, CH

R. H. Moss
RH Moss Consultancy Ltd. UK
J. B. Mullin
EMC, Dorset, UK

A. W. Nelson

K. Onabe
Tokyo University, Japan

W. Richter
TU Berlin, Germany

F. Scholz
Ulm University, Germany

G. B. Stringfellow
Utah University, USA



The information on this page is maintained by the TMS Meetings Department (

Search TMS Meetings Page About TMS TMS OnLine