TMS Logo Recipients: The 1997 EPD Extraction & Processing Science Award

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society's Extraction & Processing Division Extraction & Processing Science Award was established in 1955 and recognizes a paper that represents notable contributions to the scientific understanding of the extraction and processing of nonferrous metals.

Paper Title: "Calculation of Sulfide Capacities of Multicomponent Slags" in Metallurgical & Materials Transactions B, vol. 24B, 1993.

Recipient Photo

Arthur Pelton

Biography: Arthur Pelton is a professor in the Department of Metallurgy and Materials Engineering at Ecole Polytechnique. He earned his B.S. in engineering science, and his M.S. and Ph.D. in metallurgy in 1966, 1968, and 1970, respectively, at the University of Toronto. He is codirector of the Centre de Recherche en Calcul Thermochimique at Ecole Polytechnique and the codeveloper of F*A*C*T, a thermodynamic database computing system.

Quote on behalf of the Extraction & Processing Science Award Winners: "TMS membership keeps us academics in touch with reality. Awards such as this let us know that our work is, in fact, appreciated by the metallurgical community and are great for morale."

Recipient Photo

Gunnar Eriksson

Biography: Gunnar Eriksson is a professor at RWTH Aachen. He earned his Ph.D. in chemistry in 1975 at the University of Umeå in Sweden. During his career, he developed a computer code for Gibbs energy minimization.

Recipient Photo

Antonio Romero-Serrano

Biography: Antonio Romero-Serrano is an associate professor in the Department of Metallurgy and Materials at the Instituto Politechnico Nacional. He earned his B.S. and M.S. in metallurgical engineering at the Instituto Politecnico Nacional in 1982 and 1986, respectively, and his Ph.D. in metallurgical engineering at the University of Montreal in 1992. After receiving his Ph.D., he returned to the Instituto Politechnico Nacional.

The information on this page is maintained by Nellie Luther (

Search Award Nomination Form (Acrobat) About TMS Awards About TMS TMS OnLine