TMS Logo

Recipient: 1997 Leadership Award

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society's Leadership Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in some aspect of metallurgy and materials as a representative of an industrial, academic, governmental, or technical organization.
Recipient Photo

Julia R. Weertman

Citation: "For her outstanding leadership in policy setting national materials committees, in the TMS Council, and as chair of a premier materials engineering department."

Biography: Julia R. Weertman is Walter P. Murphy Professor at Northwestern University. She earned her B.S., M.S., and D.Sc. in physics at Carnegie Mellon University in 1946, 1947, and 1951, respectively. Prior to joining Northwestern University in 1972, she worked as a solid-state physicist for the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory. During her career, she has been a member of the National Materials Advisory Board, the Argonne National Laboratory/Los Alamos National Laboratory Pulsed Neutron Source Advisory Committee, the Panel for Materials Science on the Board of Assessment for the U.S. National Bureau of Standards Programs, the Neutron Scattering Facilities Review Committee of the Council on Materials Science for the U.S. Department of Energy, and steering committees of the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the National Research Council. She has also been co-editor of a MacMillan Book Company series of books on materials science. She holds two patents and has received numerous honors and awards.

Quote: "This award is really a recognition of the excellent research carried out by my past and present graduate students, post-docs, and colleagues. They are the true honorees!"

The information on this page is maintained by Nellie Luther (

Search Award Nomination Form (Acrobat) About TMS Awards About TMS TMS OnLine