TMS Logo

Recipients: Fellow Class of 1998

The highest honor bestowed by The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society, the honorary class of Fellow was established in 1962; Charter Fellows were inducted in 1963. To be inducted, a candidate must be recognized as an eminent authority and contributor within the broad field of metallurgy, with a strong consideration of outstanding service to the Society. The maximum number of living Fellows cannot exceed 100.
Recipient Photo

Richard J. Arsenault

Citation: "For fundamental studies on strength of metal matrix composites, deformation, and interstitial element strengthening on bcc metals and for computer simulations of dislocation-produced deformation."

Biography: Richard J. Arsenault is a professor in the Department of Materials and Nuclear Engineering at the University of Maryland. He earned his B.S. in metallurgy at Michigan Technological University in 1957 and his Ph.D. in materials science at Northwestern University in 1962. During his career, which began at Westinghouse in 1957, Dr. Arsenault has served on the Scientific Advisory Board of the U.S. Air Force and the scientific team of China. He has been a visiting professor at the University of Liverpool, an honorary professor at Shenyang Institute for Metals Research, principal scientist at the Enrich Schmid Institute in Leoben, Austria, and associate progam director of the Metallurgy Program for the National Science Foundation. He is the author or coauthor of 227 scientific papers and one book and the editor of nine books. He has received numerous honors and awards, including the TMS Distinguished Service Award.

Quote: "I have been a TMS member for almost 40 years, and I have been involved in many activities, meetings, and publications; these all have been a major part of my scientific career. However, the honor of being elected a Fellow is the most significant event in my career, for one has to consider the distinguished group of individuals who are Fellows of TMS. I have had the good fortune to have worked with interesting, intelligent, and friendly coworkers at various institutions, and I have had very talented students. I thank them all."

Recipient Photo

Ye T. Chou

Citation: "For fundamental contributions to the theory of dislocations and for seminal studies of diffusion and flux pinning by grain boundaries."

Biography: Ye T. Chou is New Century Professor Emeritus in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Lehigh University. He earned his B.S. in metallurgy at ChungKing University in China in 1945 and his M.S. in metallurgy and Ph.D. in mathematics at Carnegie Mellon University in 1954 and 1957, respectively. He has been a visiting professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Brown University and a post doctoral fellow at Cambridge University. He was a research scientist for 11 years at E.C. Bain Laboratory for Fundamental Research of U.S. Steel. Dr. Chou is the author or coauthor of more than 160 technical papers and one patent and has received numerous honors and awards.

Quote: "Throughout most of my professional career, I have been a member of TMS. The Society has provided me with a means for continued contact with my colleagues around the world, which in turn is the basis for scientific interactions and advances. I am very grateful to join the TMS Fellows."

Recipient Photo

Siegfried S. Hecker

Citation: "For outstanding contributions to the understanding of the formability and path dependent plastic deformation of metals, the mechanical and physical metallurgy of plutonium and its alloys and compounds, and national and international leadership in materials science."

Biography: Siegfried S. Hecker is director of Los Alamos National Laboratory. Dr. Hecker earned his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in metallurgy at Case Western Reserve University in 1965, 1967, and 1968, respectively. He joined Los Alamos National Laboratory as a technical staff member in the Physical Metallurgy Group in 1973 after three years as a senior research metallurgist with the General Motors Research Laboratories. As director, he has help guide the laboratory through the end of the Cold War and established scientific collaborations with Russia. He has served on several academic and government councils and committees, including the National Academy of Engineering, the Council on Competitiveness, and the Industry Advisory Board. He has received many honors and distinctions, including election to the National Academy of Engineering.

Quote: "I consider being named a TMS Fellow a great recognition of my contributions to the material community. Since only 100 members are accepted into the ranks of TMS Fellowship, it is a particularly great honor to be so recognized by my peers. Also, since I know most of the 100 Fellows, I feel very privileged to be in such esteemed company. I am especially pleased to be so honored since I have just made the decision to return to research after 12 years as director of the Los Alamos National Laboratory."

Recipient Photo

Ryoichi Kikuchi

Citation: "For conceiving and developing the cluster variation and the path probability statistical theories for describing both static and kinematic atomic processes in materials."

Biography: Ryoichi Kikuchi is a visiting scholar at the University of California at Berkeley. He earned his B.S. and Ph.D. in solid state physics at Tokyo University in 1942 and 1951, respectively. During his career in academia, he has taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the University of Chicago, the Illinois Institute of Technology, Delft Technical University, Tohuku University, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Purdue University, and the University of Washington He has also be a visiting scientist for the National Bureau of Standards and a staff member of Hughes Research Laboratories. He has received many honors for his development of the cluster variation method and its extension to the time-dependent path probability method.

Quote: "This is the result of many able collaborations. I am glad that the cluster variation method is contributing to phase diagram calculations and other applications in materials studies."

Recipient Photo

James C. Williams

Citation: "For his eminent record in research and education and for his leadership in industry and government in developing critical areas for materials research and development."

Biography: James C. Williams is general manager of the Materials and Process Engineering Department for General Electric Aircraft Engines. He earned his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in metallurgical engineering at the University of Washington in 1962, 1964, and 1968, respectively. Prior to joining General Electric in 1988, Dr. Williams was dean of the Carnegie Institute of Technology and president of the Mellon Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. He has also held engineering and leadership positions at Boeing and Rockwell. He has received several honors and awards, including the TMS Leadership Award and election to the National Academy of Engineering.

Quote: "I believe that peer recognition is the highest form of professional recognition. Being selected as a TMS Fellow represents an important form of this type of recognition. I am both pleased and honored by my selection as a TMS Fellow."

The information on this page is maintained by Nellie Luther (

Search Award Nomination Form (Acrobat) About TMS Awards About TMS TMS OnLine