TMS Logo

Recipient: 2000 Aluminum Distinguished Service Award

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society's Aluminum Distinguished Service Award established in 1995, recognizes an individual whose continuous service to the Light Metals Division's Aluminum Committee activities has facilitated the Society's ability to serve its aluminum-oriented members and their supporting organizations.
Recipient Photo

Subodh K. Das

Citation: "For his commitment to making the TMS Aluminum Committee an integral part of a unified aluminum industry."

Biography: Subodh K. Das is president of Secat, Inc. and director of the Center for Aluminum Technology at the University of Kentucky.

He earned his M.S. from the Indian Institute of Technology in 1972, his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in 1974, and his M.B.A. in 1982 from the University of Pittsburgh. His positions include vice president of technology at ARCO Aluminum Company, chairman of the Technical Advisory Committee for the Aluminum Association, vice-chairman of the TMS Light Metals Division, and chairman of the TMS Aluminum Committee.

He has published 10 papers, edited six books, and holds 20 patents.

Quote: TMS is the premier materials society in the world, and I have been privileged to be a member since 1975. TMS has offered me access to technical information, contacts, and most importantly, the professional and personal relationships with fellow members, which has helped my career in the aluminum industry. I have served in numerous capacities over the years. This award signifies that recognition always comes as long as you let it just happen. I am thrilled to be honored.

The information on this page is maintained by Nellie Luther (

Search Award Nomination Form (Acrobat) About TMS Awards About TMS TMS OnLine