TMS Logo

Recipients: Fellow Class of 2000

The highest honor bestowed by The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society, the honorary class of Fellow was established in 1962; Charter Fellows were inducted in 1963. To be inducted, a candidate must be recognized as an eminent authority and contributor within the broad field of metallurgy, with a strong consideration of outstanding service to the Society. The maximum number of living Fellows cannot exceed 100.
Recipient Photo

Reza Abbaschian

Citation: "Outstanding scientist and educator; leading researcher in solidification fundamentals and materials processing."

Biography: Reza Abbaschian is a professor and chairman of the University of Florida Department of Materials Science and Engineering.

He earned his B.S. in mining engineering at the University of Tehran, Iran, in 1965, his M.S. in metallurgical engineering from Michigan Technological University, Houghton, in 1968, and his Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from the University of California, Berkley, in 1971. Dr. Abbaschian was a visiting scientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a visiting associate professor at the University of Illinois, Urbana. A former chairman of the National Science Foundation panel for education in materials science and engineering, he has been active in numerous other national educational and professional organizations.

Dr. Abbaschian is the author or co-author of over 200 scientific articles, four patents, and five books. He is the recipient of several honors and awards, including three NSF Research Creativity Awards.

Quote: “I consider the TMS Fellow Award as a major honor in the materials community. I am thankful for TMS for providing an outstanding forum for its members for the exchange of information and ideas, and for promoting materials science and technology. Of course, I am indebted to all my colleagues throughout my career; without their support this award would not have been possible.”

Recipient Photo

Robert W. Cahn

Citation: "For outstanding contributions to the understanding of atomic ordering, diffusion, recovery, rapid solidification, and twinning in metals and intermetallics."

Biography: Robert W. Cahn is a distinguished research fellow at the University of Cambridge department of materials science and metallurgy.

He earned his B.S. in metallurgy, Ph.D. in physics, and Sc.D. in metallurgy from Cambridge University in 1945, 1950, and 1963, respectively. Dr. Cahn has taught at Sussex University, and was the founding editor of the Journal of Nuclear Materials. He is the materials science correspondent for Nature, and has edited or contributed to numerous other publications, including a 20-volume book series titled Materials Science and Technology.

Dr. Cahn is a fellow of six academies, including the Royal Society. He has received numerous other honors and awards.

Quote: “I have been a member of TMS and its precursors for 54 years. It was the first society I joined on graduation. I have always had the strong sense of being in the company of highly competent fellow-professionals, and learnt a huge amount from the Society’s publications (and edited a few of them). To be elected to Fellowship puts the definitive seal on my many years of involvement with TMS!”

Recipient Photo

Lionel C. Kimerling

Citation: "For his outstanding basic and applied research on defects in semiconductors and for his professional and academic leadership in the field of electronic materials."

Biography: Lionel C. Kimerling is Thomas Lord professor of materials science and engineering and the director of the Materials Processing Center at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dr. Kimerling eared both his B.S. in metallurgical engineering and his Ph.D. in material science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1965 and 1969, respectively. He has served as an adjunct professor of physics at Lehigh University. Dr. Kimerling was the head of the Materials Physics Research Department at AT&T Bell Laboratories and captain of the USAF at the Solid State Sciences Laboratory of the Air Force Cambridge Research Lab-oratories.

He has authored over 200 technical articles. Dr. Kimerling is a past TMS president and chairman of the Journal of Electronic Materials editorial board. He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors.

Quote:TMS is the primary intellectual reservoir of the materials field. During my many years of involvement, which span my entire professional career, I have learned from my colleagues, and I continue to benefit from their friendship. Achievements and recognition within TMS are true yardsticks for the measurement of professional impact. I am honored to be included among the TMS Fellows.”
Recipient Photo

Subra Suresh

Citation: "For pioneering contributions to mechanical behavior and mechanics of materials and leadership in materials education."

Biography: Subra Suresh is R.P. Simmons Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

He received his B.Tech. and M.S. in mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology in 1977 and Iowa State University, Ames, in 1979, respectively, and his Sc.D. in materials from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was a professor of engineering at Brown University and chair of the Materials Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Dr. Suresh is the program chair of the Singapore-MIT Alliance Advanced Materials Program.

He is the author of 175 publications, 2 books, and 9 patents and is the recipient of many awards and honors, including the TMS Hardy Award and Champion H. Mathewson Award.

Quote: “I am deeply honored and humbled by the election to fellow grade by TMS. It is a privilege to be included among the select group of 100 TMS fellows, whose collective words have significantly influenced the science and technology of materials in the second half of the 20th century. TMS has played an important role in my professional career, starting from my student days. I look forward to many more years of involvement with TMS. "
Recipient Photo

Jeffrey Wadsworth

Citation: "For outstanding contributions in superplasticity, refractory metals alloys, and ultahigh carbon (Damascus) steels, and leadership in promoting materials science in major industry and national programs."

Biography: Jeffrey Wadsworth is deputy director for science and technology at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

He earned his B.S. in 1972 and Ph.D. in 1976, both from Sheffield University in metallurgy. He was awarded with a D.Met. in 1990 from Sheffield for published research. Dr. Wadsworth has held research positions at Stanford University and Lockheed. He is a consulting professor in materials science and engineering at Stanford University and an adjunct professor of applied science at the University of California, Davis.

Dr. Wadsworth is the co-author of over 230 scientific papers, one book, and four patents. He is the recipient of several awards and has served on numerous academic, industrial, professional, and government councils and committees.

Quote: “The most rewarding acknowledgements of one’s accomplishments are those made by peers. For this reason, the TMS 2000 Fellow Award is especially meaningful to me. As I look at the prestigious list of past recipients, I feel deeply honored to be selected.”

The information on this page is maintained by Nellie Luther (

Search Award Nomination Form (Acrobat) About TMS Awards About TMS TMS OnLine