TMS Logo

Recipients: 2001 TMS Distinguished Service Award

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society's Distinguished Service Award recognizes recognizes a member's outstanding contributions to TMS. The recipient must be a member of TMS and must have exhibited exceptional devotion of time, effort, thought, and action toward furthering the Society's mission through administrative/function activities.
Recipient Photo

Carl J. McHargue

Citation: "For decades of leadership in implementing new initiatives for the TMS Board of Directors, International Af-fairs Committee, Nuclear Materials Committee, and Accreditation Committee."

Biography: Carl McHargue is director and professor at the Center for Materials Processing at the University of Tennessee.

Dr. McHargue earned a B.S. and an M.S. in metallurgical engineering and a Ph.D. in physical metallurgy from the University of Kentucky in 1949, 1951, and 1953, respectively. He was senior research staff and manager of basic energy science, materials sciences (1953-1990) and concurrently professor materials science and engineering at the University of Tennessee (1960-1990). He also acted as visiting professor at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne (1987) and adjoint professor at Vanderbilt University (1989-1995).

Dr. McHargue has served on numerous administrative and technical committees and councils for many societies, including the TMS Board of Directors, Nuclear Materials Committee, Education Committee, Accreditation Committee, International Affairs Committee, Structural Materials Division Council, ABET Visitor, and Representative to Engineering Accreditation Commission. He has authored 220 papers, edited 4 books, and holds 2 U.S. patents.

Quote: “Membership in TMS has provided an opportunity for professional service and growth. Each of my activities in TMS has contributed much to my professional development. I am pleased that my activities in the area of education are recognized by this award. It reflects the TMS mission of promoting the education and development of current and future professionals and representation of the profession in accreditation of engineering educational programs.”

The information on this page is maintained by Nellie Luther (

Search Award Nomination Form (Acrobat) About TMS Awards About TMS TMS OnLine