TMS Logo

Recipient: 2001 William Hume-Rothery Award

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society's William Hume-Rothery Award was established in 1972 by the Institute of Metals Division of TMS and recognizes outstanding scholarly contributions to the science of alloys. The award includes an invitation to the recipient to be the honored lecturer at the William Hume-Rothery Memorial Symposium during the TMS Annual Meeting.
Recipient Photo

Balazs L. Gyorffy

Lecture Title: “On the Quasi-Particle Spectra of Superconducting Random Alloys””

Biography: Balazs Gyorffy has served as professor of theoretical physics at the University of Bristol since 1987.

Prof. Gyorffy received a B.S. and Ph.D. from Yale University. At the University of Bristol, he acted as a lecturer from 1970–1980 and a reader from 1980–1987. He has held visiting positions at Oakridge National Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Institute Laue-Langevan, University of Toronto, and Technical University of Vienna. In collaboration with many, but particularly with G.M. Stocks and J.S. Faulkner, he invited and pioneered the application of the Korringa-Kohn-Rostoker-Coherent-Potential-Approximation (KKR-CPA), a first-principles method for calculating the electronic structure of metallic alloys. Advances made using the KKR-CPA are summarized in Gyroffy et al (Phil. Trans. R. Soc.Lond.A (1991) 334 515-516). Prof. Gyorffy was elected an external member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 1995, named a Fellow of the Institute of Physics in1998, and was co-recipient of the Gordon Bell Prize in 1998. He has authored or co-authored 220 publications.


Quote: “Working in a department where ‘Metals and Alloys’ by Mott and Jones was written in 1936 and only a short distance from Oxford where Hume-Rothery did his seminal work and wrote his influential ‘The Structure of Metals and Alloys’ at about the same time, I always thought of the application of the KKR-CPA method to calculations of the electronic properties of metallic alloys as a continuation of the work of these pioneers. This award pleases me because it recognizes that the continuation turned out to be progress.”

The information on this page is maintained by Nellie Luther (

Search Award Nomination Form (Acrobat) About TMS Awards About TMS TMS OnLine