TMS Logo

Recipient: 2003 Bruce Chalmers Award

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society's Bruce Chalmers Award was established in 1989 by the Materials Processing & Manufacturing Division of TMS and is named for Bruce Chalmers, widely acknowledged as the father of modern solidification science. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of solidification science.
Recipient Photo

Kenneth A. Jackson

Citation: "For outstanding contributions to the science of solidification with physically realistic interpretations and analyses of diverse kinetic phenomena at crystal-liquid interfaces."

Biography: Kenneth Jackson is a professor at the University of Arizona. He was associated with AT&T Bell Laboratories before joining the University of Arizona in 1989. Prof. Jackson received his B.Sc in engineering physics in 1952 and an M.Sc. in metallurgy in 1953 from the University of Toronto, and a Ph.D. in applied physics in 1956 from Harvard University.

He has served on many technical and administrative committees for TMS and other societies, received many honors and awards, published over 145 papers, edited 10 books, and holds four patents. His current research interests include crystallization kinetics, thin film growth and characterization, ion beam processes, and semiconductor processing.

Quote: “The first scientific conference I attended was a TMS meeting in Philadelphia, many years ago. I was a graduate student then, and I have been a member of AIME ever since. I have served on many AIME committees and was honored to receive the Mathewson Gold Medal, with John Hunt in 1966. I have the distinction of being elected a Fellow of TMS in 1987. Receiving the Bruce Chalmers Award is very special for me, since I did my graduate studies under him at Harvard. He was an exceptional scientist and a great teacher. It is an honor to receive this award which bears his name.”

The information on this page is maintained by Nellie Luther (

Search Award Nomination Form (Acrobat) About TMS Awards About TMS TMS OnLine