Honorary Symposia

The following symposia, open to all TMS2022 attendees, will honor distinguished members of the minerals, metals, and materials community.

REWAS 2022: Coupling Metallurgy and Sustainability: An EPD Symposium in Honor of Diran Apelian

Sponsored by: TMS Recycling and Environmental Technologies Committee; TMS Aluminum Committee
Organizers: Elsa Olivetti, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Brajendra Mishra, Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Bart J. Blanpain, Ku Leuven; Adam C. Powell, Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Mertol Gökelma, Izmir Institute of Technology; Camille Fleuriault, Eramet Norway

About the Symposium

Failure, and a Career That is Anything But: An LMD Symposium Honoring J. Wayne Jones

Sponsored by: TMS Light Metals Division (LMD); TMS Magnesium Committee
Organizers: Victoria M. Miller, University of Florida; Michael J. Caton, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory; Nikhilesh Chawla, Purdue University; Trevor S. Harding, California Polytechnic State University; Paul E. Krajewski, General Motors Corporation; Tresa M. Pollock, University of California, Santa Barbara

About the Symposium

Magnetics and the Critical Materials Challenge: An FMD Symposium Honoring Matthew J. Kramer

Sponsored by: TMS Functional Materials Division; TMS Magnetic Materials Committee
Organizers: Scott McCall, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; Ryan T. Ott, Ames Laboratory

About the Symposium

Primary Aluminum Industry - Energy and Emission Reductions: An LMD Symposium in Honor of Halvor Kvande

Sponsored by: TMS Light Metals Division; TMS Aluminum Committee
Organizer: Arne P. Ratvik, SINTEF

About the Symposium

Seeing is Believing -- Understanding Environmental Degradation and Mechanical Response Using Advanced Characterization Techniques: An SMD Symposium in Honor of Ian M. Robertson

Sponsored by: TMS Extraction and Processing Division, TMS Materials Processing and Manufacturing Division, and TMS Structural Materials Division; TMS Chemistry and Physics of Materials Committee, TMS Corrosion and Environmental Effects Committee, TMS Mechanical Behavior of Materials Committee, and TMS Nuclear Materials Committee
Organizers: Kaila Morgen Bertsch, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; Khalid Hattar, Sandia National Laboratories; Josh Kacher, Georgia Institute of Technology; Bai Cui, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Benjamin P. Eftink, Los Alamos National Laboratory; Stephen D. House, University of Pittsburgh; May L. Martin, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign; Kelly E. Nygren, Cornell High Energy Synchrotron Source; Blythe Gore Clark, Sandia National Laboratories; Shuai Wang, Southern University of Science and Technology

About the Symposium