

# SUBMIT AN ABSTRACT BY JULY 1 AND JOIN US AT TMS2023 FOR THIS SPECIAL SYMPOSIUM!

### HONORARY SYMPOSIUM

New Directions in Mineral Processing, Extractive Metallurgy, Recycling, and Waste Minimization: An Extraction & Processing Division Symposium in Honor of Patrick R. Taylor

#### ABOUT THE SYMPOSIUM

This symposium is intended to address new research and/ or technology for increased efficiency, energy reduction, and/or waste minimization in mineral processing, extractive metallurgy, and recycling. These are topics that Professor Taylor and his students have been studying for the past 45 years.

Technical sessions may include new directions in:

- Mineral Processing
- Hydrometallurgy
- Pyrometallurgy
- Electrometallurgy
- Metals and E waste recycling
- Waste minimization (including by-product recovery)
- Innovations in metallurgical engineering education and curriculum development



#### ABOUT THE HONOREE

Patrick R. Taylor, Emeritus Ansell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Metallurgy at the Colorado School of Mines (CSM), is a registered professional engineer with more than 45 years of experience in mineral processing and extractive metallurgy engineering, research, teaching, and consulting. He is experienced and trained in

pyrometallurgy, hydrometallurgy, and mineral processing. He has been responsible for lab work, pilot plant work, research, and process development for mineral processing and extractive metallurgy processes related to a wide variety of metals. He has authored or co-authored numerous papers and presentations. He has served as a consultant for more than 20 companies and has been an expert witness several times. He has directed research for more than 100 graduate students and post-docs. He has taught extractive metallurgy and mineral processing university courses for the past 45 years.

He is active in many professional organizations, including participation in the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration (SME), TMS, ASM International, and the Mining & Metallurgical Society of America. He has received many awards and honors. In 1996, he was named Fellow of ASM International. In 2003, he received the Milton E. Wadsworth Award from SME. In 2004, he was the TMS Extraction & Processing Division (EPD) Luncheon Speaker. In 2006, he was the TMS EPD Distinguished Lecturer. In 2008, he was named a Fellow of SME. In 2010, he received the TMS EPD Distinguished Service Award. He received the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME) James Douglas Gold Medal in 2013. He was interviewed for the AIME Oral Histories program in 2018. He received the Arthur F. Taggart award from the SME Mineral & Metallurgical Processing Division in 2022. He was named Emeritus Ansell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Metallurgy at CSM in 2022.

#### SYMPOSIUM SPONSORS

Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration TMS Extraction and Processing Division TMS Pyrometallurgy Committee TMS Hydrometallurgy and Electrometallurgy Committee TMS Materials Characterization Committee TMS Energy Committee TMS Recycling and Environmental Technologies Committee

#### SYMPOSIUM ORGANIZERS

Ramana G. Reddy, University of Alabama Corby G. Anderson, Colorado School of Mines Erik D. Spiller, Colorado School of Mines Edgar E. Vidal, NobelClad Camille Fleuriault, Eramet Norway Alexandra E. Anderson, Gopher Resource Mingming Zhang, Wood Mackenzie Christina Meskers, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

## www.tms.org/TMS2023

