August 6, 2019

In This Issue

TMS Members Honored with Presidential Early Career Awards

Congratulations to two TMS members who were named recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. Jennifer L.W. Carter, an assistant professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Case Western Reserve University, and Suveen N. Mathaudhu, associate professor and Materials Science and Engineering Chair at the University of California, Riverside, were both recognized for their achievements in July 2019.

A TMS member since 2007, Carter is the recipient of the 2012 American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME) Henry deWitt Smith Scholarship, the 2014 Structural Materials Division (SMD) Young Leaders Professional Development Award, and the 2019 TMS/Federation of European Materials Societies (FEMS) Young Leaders International Scholar Award. She has been actively involved in several TMS technical and functional committees, and is a past chair and current member of the Diversity Committee.

Mathaudhu has participated on many TMS technical committees since he became a member in 2000, serving the Society across the Light Metals, Materials Processing & Manufacturing, and Structural Materials Divisions. In 2015, Mathaudhu received the American Association of Engineering Societies’ (AAES) Norm Augustine Award for Outstanding Achievement in Engineering Communications.

The PECASE are coordinated by the U.S. Office of Science and Technology Policy with the participating agencies and departments to recognize individuals who contribute to the advancement of science, technology, education, and math (STEM) education and who demonstrate commitment to community service through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.

View the full list of award recipients.

Begin the Visa Application Process Today for TMS2020

Planning to join us at the TMS 2020 Annual Meeting & Exhibition (TMS2020) in February? If you need to obtain a visa to travel to the United States, TMS encourages you to begin the visa application process as soon as possible. 

The TMS2020 website now includes information on how to obtain a travel visa, providing informational resources and the ability to generate a visa letter. Visit the TMS2020 Travel Visa page.

Before requesting a letter, you will be asked to log in to help TMS verify the request being made. TMS members and web users can simply log in using their usual TMS login information. (Your username or password can be retrieved through the login page, if necessary.) If you do not have a TMS account, you will need to create a username and password before requesting a letter.

TMS2020 will be held in San Diego, California, February 23–27. Registration for the conference will open in October 2019.

Apply for the John F. Elliot Lectureship Award

Jointly sponsored by TMS and the Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST), the John F. Elliot Lectureship Award recognizes distinguished contributions in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry to the iron and steel industry.

This honorary lectureship provides a unique opportunity for recipients to acquaint students and engineers with opportunities in chemical process metallurgy, to inspire them to pursue careers in this field, and to inform the public of the contributions of chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry. In the year following their selection, the award recipient will present a lecture at three to five universities on this topic.

To be eligible, an applicant should have made significant contributions in chemical process metallurgy and materials chemistry. Candidates may be from either industry or academia. To apply, submit a completed nomination form, five letters of endorsement, a biography, and a proposed citation to the AIST Awards Program Committee by September 30.

For complete application details, visit the official award website. Award recipients will be selected by a committee consisting of TMS and AIST members.

This award honors the late Professor John Elliott of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for his many accomplishments and the leadership that he provided during his career.