3/5/2020 - 2020 Class of TMS Fellows Announced

Media Contact:
Kelly Zappas
Membership News & Communications Lead
The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS)
Telephone: 800–759–4867, ext. 218 (U.S. and Canada only)
Direct: 724–814–3122

2020 Class of TMS Fellows Announced
March 5, 2020 —Pittsburgh, PA (USA): The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) has announced the names of its 2020 Class of Fellows. Honorees received their awards at the TMS–AIME Awards Ceremony on Wednesday February 26, 2020 at the TMS 2020 Annual Meeting & Exhibition (TMS2020) held from February 23–27, 2020 in San Diego, California.

The Class of Fellow is TMS’s highest honor. To be inducted, a candidate must be recognized as a leading authority and contributor to the practice of metallurgy, materials science, and technology. This includes scholarship, such as the publication of articles or books; the granting of patents; direction of important research or engineering work; and responsibility through management for nationally known improvements and developments in the field. A strong consideration is also given for outstanding service to the Society.

For more information about the TMS Fellow Award, or to view a complete list of 2020 TMS award recipients, visit awards.tms.org. For more information about the TMS-AIME Awards Ceremony and other activities at TMS2020, visit www.tms.org/TMS2020. Awardee photos are available upon request.

The 2020 Class of Fellows is:

Mark Asta, Professor, University of California Berkeley - For seminal contributions in the materials theory of alloys and interfaces.

Rodney Boyer, Retired, RBTi Consulting - For exemplary and sustained leadership in the growth of understanding and application of Ti alloys in commercial aircraft. For exceptional service to our profession.

Marc De Graef, Professor, Carnegie Mellon University - For pioneering scientific and educational contributions to the quantitative characterization of magnetic materials and 3-D material microstructures.

Diana Farkas, Professor, Virginia Polytechnic University - For pioneering research on nanocrystalline materials, intermetallics and diffusion with atomistic simulations and for distinguished service to the materials profession nationally and internationally.

Dorte Juul Jensen, Professor, Technical University of Denmark - For seminal contributions to the understanding of physical metallurgy, in particular recrystallization and plastic deformation, based on 2D, 3D and 4D electron, neutron and X-ray diffraction techniques.

Karl Ulrich Kainer, Retired Director, Institute of Materials Research and Head of MagIC - A leading authority on Global Magnesium Technology, a contributor to magnesium applications and alloy development, the Director of MagIC and an active promoter of TMS.

David McDowell, Regents’ Professor and Carter N. Paden Jr. Distinguished Chair in Metals Processing, Georgia Institute of Technology - For contributions to multiscale modeling and design of structural materials, microstructure sensitive simulation of material property variability, and leadership in materials innovation.

Neville Moody, Retired, Sandia National Laboratories - For developing experimental testing methods to assess materials reliability and environmental degradation in critical systems and for shaping the profession through service and mentoring.

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is a professional society that connects minerals, metals, and materials scientists and engineers who work in industry, academia, and government positions around the world. TMS creates networking, publication, and professional development opportunities by convening international conferences, publishing books and journals, administering awards, and developing standards for the professions it serves. TMS currently supports more than 14,000 professional and student members on six continents. For more information on TMS, visit www.tms.org.