09/20/2018 - Four TMS Members Inducted into National Academy of Engineering

Media Contact:
Ashley-Anne Bohnert
Outreach & External Communications Lead
The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS)
Telephone: 1–724–814–3188

Four TMS Members Inducted Into National Academy of Engineering

September 20, 2018, Pittsburgh, PA (USA): The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) recognizes four of its members who will be formally inducted into the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE) on September 30, 2018, in Washington, D.C., during a ceremony at the NAE annual meeting.

Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

The following two TMS members will be inducted as U.S. members in the NAE:

Lallit Anand

is the Warren and Towneley Rohsenow Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and has been a TMS member since 1985. He was elected to the NAE “for contributions to the development of plasticity for engineering technology: theory, experiment, and computation.”

David N. Seidman

is the Walter P. Murphy Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University. Seidman is being recognized by the NAE “for contributions to understanding of materials at the atomic scale, leading to advanced materials and processes.” A TMS member since 1986, Seidman is a 1997 TMS Fellow and the recipient of the 2011 Institute of Metals/Robert Franklin Mehl Award. He was also named an Honorary Member of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME) in 2014 and was a 1966 recipient of the AIME Robert Lansing Hardy Award.

Two other TMS members will be inducted as foreign members in the NAE:

John Ågren

is a professor of materials science and engineering at the Royal Institute of Technology KTH, Stockholm, Sweden. He is being honored by the NAE “for development of integrated thermodynamics and kinetics analysis tools enabling computational materials engineering.” A member of TMS since 2005, he was the recipient of the 2011 TMS William Hume-Rothery Award.

Ke Lu

is the director of both the Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Science and the Institute of Metal Research of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Shenyang, China. The NAE is recognizing him “for discovery of nanotwinned materials and contributions to the advancement of nanostructured materials.” He has been a TMS member since 2006 and was named a TMS Fellow in 2017.


The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is a professional society that connects minerals, metals, and materials scientists and engineers who work in industry, academia, and government positions around the world. TMS creates networking, publication, and professional development opportunities by convening international conferences, publishing books and journals, administering awards, and developing standards for the professions it serves. TMS currently supports more than 13,000 professional and student members in 94 countries on six continents. For more information on TMS, visit www.tms.org.