Diversity in the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Professions 3

July 23–24, 2018 • University of California, Santa Barbara • Santa Barbara, California, USA

View Final Program

Online and advanced registration is now closed

Onsite registration is available beginning at 7:30a.m. on Monday, July 23, at the Front Patio, Loma Pelona. To expedite the registration process, you may complete and print the PDF registration form and bring it with you. TMS staff will be available to assist you with your registration.


Online Registration Closes:
July 19, 2018 at 10:00 a.m.

Abstract Submission Deadline:
March 2, 2018

Housing Deadline:
The Club & Guest House
June, 10, 2018

The Goodland
June 18, 2018

Conference Dates:
July 23–24, 2018




The first two summits in the Diversity in the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Professions (DMMM) series opened the conversation and identified the challenges to a more diverse and inclusive professional community.

Establishing a clear path to meaningful engagement and tangible action is the focus of the third summit, DMMM3.

Join us at DMMM3 for a solutions-driven program built on the following concepts:
  • Engaging participants on the most recent social-science findings in the areas of diversity and inclusion while exploring current issues and potential solutions.
  • Measuring progress and ensuring positive outcomes for all through the establishment of well informed and proactive measures and metrics.
  • Transforming the professional community by implementing changes in workplace cultures and policies.

Register today to be a part of this important initiative to make our workplaces more diverse and inclusive.

Summit Sponsors and Organizers

This summit is co-sponsored by the TMS Diversity Committee and The Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration.

It is being organized by the following individuals:
Chair: Jonathan Madison, Sandia National Laboratories
Co-Chairs: Jennifer Andrew, University of Florida
Megan Brewster, Launch Forth, a division of Local Motors
Amy Clarke, Colorado School of Mines
Kristen Constant, Iowa State University
Oscar Dubón, University of California, Berkeley
Emily Kinser, 3M Corporate Research Laboratory
Matthew Korey, Purdue University
Natalie Larson, University of California, Santa Barbara
Xavier Ochoa, McEwen Mining Inc.
Michael Rawlings, AAAS Fellow at the National Science Foundation 
Rosa Maria Rojas, University of Arizona

For more information on programming and abstract submissions, visit the Programming page.

For More Information

For more information about this meeting, please complete the meeting inquiry form or contact:

TMS Meeting Services
5700 Corporate Drive Suite 750
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
U.S. and Canada Only: 1-800-759-4867
Other Countries: 1-724-776-9000, ext. 241
Fax: 1-724-776-3770