Meeting Resources
12th International Conference on Magnesium Alloys and their Applications (Mg 2021)

June 15–18, 2021

Virtual Event

Final Program

The 12th International Conference on Magnesium Alloys and their Applications (Mg 2021) will convene the global research community to explore the latest discoveries in magnesium, both fundamental and applied. First held in 1986 in London, this event is the longest running conference dedicated to the development of magnesium alloys. 

The conference will cover the full breadth of magnesium research and development, from primary production to applications to end-of-life management. Scientists and engineers from academia, government, and industry will discuss new developments in magnesium alloys and share valuable insights.


Virtual Platform Access:
June 7, 2021

Conference Dates:
June 15–18, 2021

Virtual Platform Closure, Extended:
July 31, 2021

Complimentary Access to Proceedings Publication Deadline:
August 31, 2021


Plenary Speakers

Highlights of the programming include the following plenary speakers.

  • John Allison, University of Michigan, USA
  • Irene Beyerlein, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
  • Nick Birbilis, Australian National University, Australia
  • Hamid Jahed, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Yoshihito Kawamura, Kumamoto University, Japan
  • Michele Manuel, University of Florida, USA
  • Fusheng Pan, Chongqing University, China
  • Maria Teresa Perez-Prado, IMDEA Materials Institute, Spain
  • Anil Sachdev, General Motors Company, USA
  • Kwang Seon Shin, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Jonathan Weiler, Meridian Lightweight, Canada
  • Michael Worswick, University of Waterloo, Canada

See the technical program page for more details.

Join Our E-mail List

Be the first to know about important updates to Mg. Click the button below and complete the short form if you are interested in receiving e-mail updates from TMS.

Sign Up for Updates

Conference Sponsors and Organizers

This conference is sponsored by the Light Metals Division and the Magnesium Committee, and is being organized by the following individuals:

Organizing Committee
Co-Chairs: Alan Luo, The Ohio State University, USA
Mihriban Pekguleryuz, McGill University, Canada
Members: Sean Agnew, University of Virginia, USA
John Allison, University of Michigan, USA
Karl Kainer, Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Germany
Eric Nyberg, Tungsten Heavy Powder & Parts, Wyoming, USA
Warren Poole, University of British Colombia, Canada
Kumar Sadayappan, CanmetMATERIALS, Canada
Bruce Williams, CanmetMATERIALS, Canada
Steve Yue, McGill University, Canada

For More Information

For more information about this meeting, please complete the meeting inquiry form or contact:

TMS Meeting Services
5700 Corporate Drive Suite 750
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
U.S. and Canada Only: 1-800-759-4867
Other Countries: 1-724-776-9000, ext. 241
Fax: 1-724-776-3770