TMS Logo  TMS ONLINE | MEMBERS ONLY | SITE MAP

2003 Electronic Materials Conference

June 25-27, 2003 · 45TH ELECTRONIC MATERIALS CONFERENCE · Salt Lake City, Utah

 
EMC Logo
University of Utah Campus Photo
VIEW THE ATTENDEE LIST
(Downloadable using Adobe Acrobat)

The 45th Electronic Materials Conference (EMC) sponsored by the Electronic Materials Committee of TMS will be held in Salt Lake City, Utah from June 25 through June 27, 2003.

The conference will provide a forum for topics of current interest and significance in the areas related to the preparation and characterization of electronic materials. Individuals actively engaged or interested in electronic materials research and development are encouraged to attend this meeting, and papers in this general subject are solicited.

EMC/DRC

The Device Research Conference (DRC) and the Electronic Materials Conference (EMC) of TMS will again coordinate activities. The DRC will be held on Monday, June 23 through Wednesday, June 25, 2003. The EMC will be held on Wednesday, June 25 through Friday, June 27, 2002. Device-oriented papers should be submitted to the DRC and materials-oriented papers to the EMC.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

TMS
Meeting Services
184 Thorn Hill Road
Warrendale, PA 15086 USA
Tel: (724) 776-9000 x243 • Fax: (724) 776-3700
Email: mtgserv@tms.org

or, complete the TMS Upcoming Meetings Mailing List Form to receive additional informatin about this meeting.

2003 EMC CHAIRS

General Chair:
Ilesanmi Adesida
Univ of Illinois
Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory
208 N Wright St
Urbana, IL 61801
Tel: (217) 333-3097
Fax: (217) 244-6375
E-mail: iadesida@uiuc.edu

Program Chair:
April S. Brown
Duke University
Box 90291
Durham, NC 27708
Tel: (919) 660-5442
Fax: (919) 660-5293
E-mail: abrown@ee.duke.edu

ORGANIZING COMMITTEES

Ilesanmi Adesida
CHAIRMAN
University of Illinois

Michael Melloch
PAST CHAIRMAN
Purdue University

April Brown
VICE CHAIRMAN
Duke University

Edward Yu
SECRETARY
University of California
James Speck
TREASURER
University of California

Ted Harman
EDITOR-JEM
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lincoln Laboratory


Sungho Jin
CHAIR EMPMD
University of California

MEMBERS

Carol Ashby, Sandia National Laboratory; Robert Biefeld, Sandia National Laboratory; Leonard Brillson, Ohio State University; Michael Capano, Purdue University; P. Daniel Dapkas, University of Southern California; L. Ralph Dawson, University of New Mexico; Russell D. Dupuis, University of Texas; Eugene Fitzgerald, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Mark Goorsky, University of California; Julia Hsu, Lucent Technologies; David Janes, Purdue University; Tom Kuech, University of Wisconsin; Kei-Mai Lau, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology; Theresa Mayer, Pennsylvania State University; James L. Merz, University of Notre Dame; Mark Miller, University of Utah; Laura Wills Mirkarimi, Agilent Technologies Inc.; Suzanne Mohney, Pennsylvania State University; Thomas Myers, West Virginia University; Chris Palmstrom, University of Minnesota; Lisa Porter, Carnegie Mellon University; Laura Rea, US Air Force; Joan Redwing, Pennsylvania State University; Steve Ringel, Ohio State University; Timothy Sands, Purdue University; Akio Sasaki, Osaka Electro-Communication University; Ben Shanabrook, Naval Research Laboratory; Michael Tischler, Ocis Tech; Charles Tu, University of California; Christian Wetzel, Uniroyal Optoelectronics; Jerry M. Woodall, Purdue University

INVITED ORGANIZERS
FOR THE 2003 EMC CONFERENCE:

The Electronic Materials Conference wishes to thank the following invited organizers for their support and contribution to the technical program presented at this year’s conference:
Charles Ahn, Yale University; Andrew Allerman, Sandia National Laboratories; Supriyo Bandyopadhayay, Virginia Commonwealth University; Brian Bennett, Naval Research Lab; Tom Block, TRW; Jennifer N. Cha, University of California; Shigefusa Chichibu, University of Tsukuba; David Chow, HRL Laboratories, LLC; Lance Delzeit, NASA Ames Research Center; Kurt Eyink, Wright Patterson AFB; Randy Feenstra, Carnegie Mellon University; Ulrich Goesele, Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics; Rachel Goldman, University of Michigan; David Gundlach, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory; Doug Hall, University of Notre Dame; Karl Hobart, Naval Research Laboratory; William Hoke, Raytheon Company; Archie Holmes, University of Texas; Evelyn Hu, University of California; Tom Jackson, Pennsylvania State University; Conrad James, Sandia National Laboratories; Andrew D. Johnson, DERA; Ron Kaspi, Air Force Research Laboratory; Patrick Lenahan, Pennsylvania State University; Maria Lieberman, University of Notre Dame; Maria Losurdo, Institute of Inorganic Methodologies and Plasmas; T.P. Ma, Yale University; Mike Manfra, Lucent Technologies; Shelby Nelson, Eastman Kodak Company; Phil Neudeck, NASA Glenn Research Center; Ramamoorthy Ramesh, University of Maryland; Stefano Sanvito, Trinity College; Matt Seaford, RF Micro Devices; T.Y. Seong, Kwangju Institute of Science and Technology; Darrell Schlom, Pennsylvania State University; Glenn Solomon, Stanford University; Robert Stahlbush, Naval Research Laboratory; Susanne Stemmer, University of California; Ray Tsui, Motorola Labs; Jenna Zinck, HRL Laboratories, LLC

ISSUES FOR WIDE BANDGAP MATERIALS: GROWTH, DOPING, PROCESSING, CHARACTERIZATION, AND DEVICE APPLICATIONS

NITRIDES: GROWTH, PROCESSING, CHARACTERIZATION, THEORY AND DEVICES
Thomas Myers
West Virginia University
Tel: (304) 293-3422 x1469
Fax: (304) 293-5732
Email: tmyers@wvu.edu

Joan Redwing
Pennsylvania State University
Tel: (814) 865-8665
Fax: (814) 865-2917
Email: jmr31@psu.edu

Russ Dupuis
University of Texas
Tel: (512) 471-0537
Fax: (512) 471-0957
Email: dupuis@mail.utexas.edu
Mike Manfra
Lucent Technologies
Tel: (908) 582-1137
Fax: (908) 582-4868
Email: manfra@lucent.com

Andrew Allerman
Sandia National Laboratories
Tel: (505) 845-3697
Fax: (505) 844-3211
Email: aaaller@sandia.gov

Randy Feenstra
Carnegie Mellon University
Tel: (412) 268-6961
Fax: (421) 681-0648
Email: feenstra@andrew.cmu.edu

SILICON CARBIDE: GROWTH, PROCESSING, CHARACTERIZATION, THEORY AND DEVICES
Laura Rea
Air Force Research Laboratory
Tel: (937) 255-6316
Fax: (937) 255-4913
Email: laura.rea@wpafb.af.mil

Mike Capano
Purdue University
Tel: (765) 494-3563
Fax: (765) 494-6441
Email: capano@purdue.edu
Phil Neudeck
NASA Glenn Research Center
Tel: (216) 433-8902
Fax: (216) 433-8643
Email: neudeck@grc.nasa.gov

Robert Stahlbush
Naval Research Laboratory
Tel: (202) 767-3357
Fax: (202) 404-7193
Email: stahlbush@nrl.navy.mil

POINT DEFECTS, EXTENDED DEFECTS, AND DOPING IN WIDE BANDGAP SEMICONDUCTORS
Jim Speck
University of California
Tel: (805) 893-8005
Fax: (805) 893-8983
Email: speck@mri.ucsb.edu

Shigefusa Chichibu
University of Tsukuba
Tel: +81-298-53-5022
Fax: +81-298-53-5205
Email: chichibu@bk.tsukuba.ac.jp
Christian Wetzel
Uniroyal Optoelectronics
Tel: (813) 630-9100 x4429
Fax: (813) 246-5824
Email: christian.wetzel@uniroyalopto.com

Len Brillson
Ohio State University
Tel: (614) 292-8015
Fax: (614) 688-4688
Email: brillson.1@osu.edu

METAL CONTACTS TO SEMICONDUCTORS
Jerry Woodall
Yale University
Tel: (203) 432-4298
Fax: (203) 432-6420
Email: jerry.woodall@yale.edu

Lisa Porter
Carnegie Mellon University
Tel: (412) 268-4047
Fax: (412) 268-3113
Email: lporter@andrew.cmu.edu
T.Y. Seong
Kwangju Institute of Science and Technology
Tel: +82-62-970-2308
Fax: +82-62-970-2304
Email: tyseong@kjist.ac.kr

Suzanne Mohney
Pennsylvania State University
Tel: (814) 863-0744
Fax: (814) 865-2917
Email: mohney@ems.psu.edu

NANOSCALE SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY IN MATERIALS

LOW-DIMENSIONAL STRUCTURES: QUANTUM DOTS, WIRES, AND WELLS
Ben Shanabrook
Naval Research Laboratory
Tel: (202) 767-3693
Fax: (202) 767-1165
Email: shanabrook@bloch.nrl.navy.mil

Jim Merz
University of Notre Dame
Tel: (574) 631-3111
Fax: (574) 631-0651
Email: jmerz@nd.edu

Mark Miller
University of Utah
Tel: (801) 587-7718
Fax: (801) 581-4816
Email: mark.miller@ece.utah.edu
Glenn Solomon
Stanford University
Tel: (650) 725-6910
Fax: (650) 723-4659
Email: solomon@stanford.edu

Akio Sasaki
Osaka Electro-Communication University
Tel: +81-72-824-1131
Fax: +81-72-824-0014
Email: sasaki@isc.osakac.ac.jp

NANOSCALE FABRICATION AND SELF-ASSEMBLED SYSTEMS
Evelyn Hu
University of California
Tel: (805) 893-2368
Fax: (805) 893-8170
Email: hu@ece.ucsb.edu

Supriyo Bandyopadhayay
Virginia Commonwealth University
Tel: (804) 827-6275
Fax: (804) 828-4269
Email: sbandy@vcu.edu
David Janes
Purdue University
Tel: (765) 494-9263
Fax: (765) 494-2706
Email: janes@ecn.purdue.edu

NANOSCALE CHARACTERIZATION
Edward T. Yu
University of California
Tel: (858) 534-6619
Fax: (858) 822-3425
Email: ety@ece.ucsd.edu

Rachel Goldman
University of Michigan
Tel: (734) 647-6821
Fax: (734) 763-4788
Email: rsgold@engin.umich.edu
Julia Hsu
Lucent Technologies
Bell Laboratories
Tel: (908) 582-2074
Fax: (908) 582-4868
Email: jhsu@lucent.com

MOLECULAR ELECTRONICS AND NANOTUBES
David Janes
Purdue University
Tel: (765) 494-9263
Fax: (765) 494-2706
Email: janes@ecn.purdue.edu

Ray Tsui
Motorola Labs
Tel: (480) 755-5454
Fax: (480) 755-5502
Email: ray.tsui@motorola.com

Marya Lieberman
University of Notre Dame
Tel: (574) 631-4665
Fax: (574) 631-6652
Email: mlieberm@nd.edu
Theresa Mayer
Pennsylvania State University
Tel: (814) 863-8458
Fax: (814) 865-7065
Email: tsm2@psu.edu

Lance Delzeit
NASA Ames Research Center
Tel: (650) 604-0236
Fax: (650) 604-1088
Email: ldelzeit@mail.arc.nasa.gov

EPITAXY FOR DEVICES
Kei-May Lau
Hong Kong University of Science and
Technology
Tel: +852-2358-7049
Fax: +852-2358-1485
Email: eekmlau@ust.hk

Tom Block
TRW
Tel: (310) 814-1715
Fax: (310) 812-4378
Email: thomas.block@trw.com
Michael Tischler
Ocis Tech
Tel: (480) 283-0858
Fax: (480) 283-0858
Email: tisch@ocistech.com

Archie Holmes
University of Texas
Tel: (512) 232-2735
Fax: (512) 471-8575
Email: holmes@mail.utexas.edu

MATERIALS INTEGRATION: WAFER BONDING AND ALTERNATIVE SUBSTRATES
Karl Hobart
Naval Research Laboratory
Tel: (202) 404-8542
Fax: (202) 404-1271
Email: karl.hobart@nrl.navy.mil

Matt Seaford
RF Micro Devices
Tel: (336) 678-8651
Fax: (336) 678-0105
Email: mseaford@rfmd.com
Ulrich Goesele
Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics
Tel: +49-345-5582-657
Fax: +49-345-5582-557
Email: goesele@mpi-halle.de

Tom Kuech
University of Wisconsin
Tel: (608) 263-2922
Fax: (608) 265-4036
Email: kuech@engr.wisc.edu

NON-DESTRUCTIVE TESTING AND IN-SITU MONITORING/CONTROL
Mark Goorsky
University of California
Tel: (310) 206-0267
Fax: (310) 206-7353
Email: goorsky@seas.ucla.edu
Kurt Eyink
Wright Patterson AFB
Tel: (937) 656-5710
Fax: (937) 656-7788
Email: kurt.eyink@wpafb.af.mil

EPITAXY: GROWTH, METAMORPHIC, AND TEMPLATES (OTHER AREAS)
Ralph Dawson
University of New Mexico
Tel: (505)272-7820
Fax: (505)272-7801
Email: rdawson@chtm.unm.edu

Steve Ringel
Ohio State University
Tel: (614)292-6904
Fax: (614)292-9562
Email: ringel.5@osu.edu
William Hoke
Raytheon Company
Tel: (978)684-8581
Fax: (978)684-5345
Email: whoke@rrfc.raytheon.com

NARROW BANDGAPS: ANTIMONIDES AND OTHER MATERIALS
Robert Biefeld
Sandia National Laboratories
Tel: (505) 844-1556
Fax: (505) 844-3211
Email: rmbiefe@sandia.gov

David Chow
HRL Laboratories, LLC
Tel: (310) 317-5330
Fax: (310) 317-5483
Email: chow@hrl.com

Ralph Dawson
University of New Mexico
Tel: (505) 272-7820
Fax: (505) 272-7801
Email: rdawson@chtm.unm.edu
Ron Kaspi
Air Force Research Laboratory
c/o University of New Mexico
Center for High Technology Materials
Tel: (505) 272-7822
Fax: (505) 272-7801
Email: kaspi@chtm.unm.edu

Andrew D. Johnson
DERA
Tel: +44-1684-894588
Fax: +44-1684-894311
Email: adjohnson@qinetiq.com

SEMICONDUCTORS: PROCESSING AND OXIDATION
Maria Losurdo
Institute of Inorganic Methodologies and
Plasmas
Tel: +39-080-544-3562
Fax: +39-080-544-2024
Email: cscpm118@area.ba.cnr.it

Daniel Dapkus
University of Southern California
Tel: (213) 740-4414
Fax: (213) 740-6022
Email: dapkus@mizar.usc.edu
Carol Ashby
Sandia National Laboratory
Tel: (505) 844-2303
Fax: (505) 844-1198
Email: ciashby@sandia.gov

Doug Hall
University of Notre Dame
Tel: (574) 631-8631
Fax: (574) 631-4393
Email: dhall@nd.edu

POINT AND EXTENDED DEFECTS IN MISMATCHED MATERIALS
Steve Ringel
Ohio State University
Tel: (614) 292-6904
Fax: (614) 292-9562
Email: ringel.5@osu.edu

Jerry Woodall
Yale University
Tel: (203) 432-4298
Fax: (203) 432-6420
Email: jerry.woodall@yale.edu
Gene Fitzgerald
MIT
Tel: (617) 158-7461
Fax: (617) 253-3406
Email: eafitz@mit.edu

SILICON INTEGRATION: ALTERNATIVE DIELECTRICS, THIN OXIDES, FERROELECTRICS, AND EPITAXIAL OXIDES
Darrell Schlom
Pennsylvania State University
Tel: (814) 863-8579
Fax: (814) 863-0618
Email: schlom@ems.psu.edu

Susanne Stemmer
Rice University
Tel: (713) 348-3546
Fax: (713) 348-5423
Email: stemmer@rice.edu

T.P. Ma
Yale University
Tel: (205) 432-4211
Fax: (205) 432-7769
Email: t.ma@yale.edu

Ramamoorthy Ramesh
University of Maryland
Tel: (301) 405-7364
Email: rr136@umail.umd.edu
Patrick Lenahan
Pennsylvania State University
Tel: (814) 863-4630
Fax: (814) 863-7967
Email: pmlesm@engr.psu.edu

Laura Mirkarimi
Agilent Technologies
Tel: (650) 485-8561
Fax: (650) 485-3626
Email: laura_mirkarimi@agilent.com

Charles Ahn
Yale University
Tel: (203) 432-6421
Fax: (203) 432-7044
Email: charles.ahn@yale.edu

Si-BASED HETEROJUNCTION GROWTH AND CHARACTERIZATION
Gene Fitzgerald
MIT
Tel: (617) 158-7461
Fax: (617) 253-3046
Email: eafitz@mit.edu
Michael Tischler
Ocis Tech
Tel: (480) 283-0858
Fax: (480) 283-0858
Email: tisch@ocistech.com

MATERIALS ISSUES FOR ORGANIC OPTOELECTRONICS AND TRANSISTORS
Shelby Nelson
Eastman Kodak Company
Tel: (585) 477-8417
Fax: (585) 477-0736
Email: shelby.nelson@kodak.com

Tom Jackson
Pennsylvania State University
Tel: (814) 863-8570
Email: tnj1@psu.edu
David Gundlach
Laboratory for Solid State Physics
Tel: +41-1633-2278
Fax: +41-1633-1072
Email: gundlach@phys.ethz.ch

EPITAXY
Brian Bennett
Naval Research Lab
Tel: (202) 767-3665
Fax: (202) 767-1165
Email: bennett@nrl.navy.mil

Thomas Kuech
University of Wisconsin
Tel: (608) 263-2922
Fax: (608) 265-4036
Email: kuech@engr.wisc.edu
Charles Tu
University of California
Tel: (858) 534-4687
Fax: (858) 822-3427
Email: ctu@ece.ucsd.edu

Jenna Zinck
HRL Laboratories, LLC
Tel: (310) 317-3913
Fax: (310) 317-5840
Email: zinck@hrl.com

BIOLOGICAL/ELECTRONIC INTERFACES: MATERIALS AND DEVICES
Conrad James
Sandia National Laboratories
Tel: (505) 284-9546
Fax: (505) 844-2991
Email: cdjame@sandia.gov

Evelyn Hu
University of California
Tel: (805) 893-2368
Fax: (805) 893-8170
Email: hu@ece.ucsb.edu
Carol Ashby
Sandia National Laboratories
Tel: (505) 844-2303
Fax: (505) 844-1198
Email: ciashby@sandia.gov

Jennifer N. Cha
University of California
Tel: (510) 642-2148
Fax: (510) 642-6911
Email: j_cha@uclink.berkeley.edu

SPIN-DEPENDENT (OR SPINTRONIC) ELECTRONIC MATERIALS
Chris Palmstrom
University of Minnesota
Tel: (612) 625-7558
Fax: (612) 625-7246
E-mail: palms001@umn.edu

Stefano Sanvito
Trinity College
Tel: +35-31-608-3065
Fax: +35-31-671-1759
Email: sanvitos@tcd.ie
Nitin Samarth
Pennsylvania State University
Tel: (814) 863-0136
Fax: (253) 484-8667
E-mail: nsamarth@psu.edu

 

 


 

The information on this page is maintained by the TMS Meetings Department (mtgserv@tms.org).

Search TMS Meetings Page About TMS TMS OnLine