TMS Logo  TMS ONLINE | MEMBERS ONLY | SITE MAP

2004 Electronic Materials Conference

June 23-25, 2004 · 46TH ELECTRONIC MATERIALS CONFERENCE · Notre Dame University, Notre Dame, Indiana

EMC Logo
HELPFUL LINKS

JOIN THE MAILING LIST FOR THIS MEETING


IMPORTANT DATES
  EXTENDED: Early Registration Deadline
June 10, 2004

Welcoming Reception
June 23, 2004

 
The 46th Electronic Materials Conference (EMC) sponsored by the Electronic Materials Committee of TMS will be held at Notre Dame University, Notre Dame, Indiana from June 23 through June 25, 2004.

The conference will provide a forum for topics of current interest and significance in the areas related to the preparation and characterization of electronic materials. Individuals actively engaged or interested in electronic materials research and development are encouraged to attend this meeting, and papers in this general subject are solicited.

EMC/DRC

The Device Research Conference (DRC) and the Electronic Materials Conference (EMC) of TMS will again coordinate activities. The DRC will be held on Monday, June 21 through Wednesday, June 23, 2004. The EMC will be held on Wednesday, June 23 through Friday, June 25, 2004. Device-oriented papers should be submitted to the DRC and materials-oriented papers to the EMC.

Inquires about DRC should be forwarded to:

Pallab Bhattacharya
University of Michigan
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
1301 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2122
Tel: (734)763-6678
Fax: (734)763-9324
Email: pkb@eecs.umich.edu

Abstracts submitted to DRC may not be submitted to EMC.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

TMS
Meeting Services
184 Thorn Hill Road
Warrendale, PA 15086 USA
Tel: (724) 776-9000 x243 • Fax: (724) 776-3700
Email: mtgserv@tms.org

or, complete the TMS Upcoming Meetings Mailing List Form to receive additional informatin about this meeting.

2004 EMC CHAIRS

General Chair:
April S. Brown
Duke University
130 Hudson Hall
Durham, NC 27708
Tel: (919)660-5442
Fax: (919)660-5293
Email: abrown@ee.duke.edu

Program Chair:
Edward Yu
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
ECE Dept MC 0407
La Jolla, CA 92093-0407
Tel: (858)534-6619
Fax: (858)822-3425
Email: ety@ece.ucsd.edu

ELECTRONIC MATERIALS COMMITTEE OFFICERS

April Brown
CHAIRMAN
Duke University

Ilesanmi Adesida
PAST CHAIRMAN
University of Illinois

Edward Yu
VICE CHAIRMAN
University of California

Theresa Mayer
TREASURER
Pennsylvania State Univ.
JRobert Biefeld
SECRETARY
Sandia National Labs

Ted Harman
EDITOR-JEM
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lincoln Laboratory


Sungho Jin
DIRECTOR/ CHAIR EMPMD
University of California

ELECTRONIC MATERIALS COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Andrew A. Allerman, Sandia National Labs; Leonard J. Brillson, The Ohio State University; Michael A. Capano, Purdue University; Paul Daniel Dapkus, University of Southern California; L. Ralph Dawson, University of New Mexico; Eugene A. Fitzgerald, MIT; Rachel S. Goldman, Univ of Michigan; Mark S. Goorsky, University of California; Karl Hobart, Naval Research Lab; Julia W.P. Hsu, Sandia National Labs; David B. Janes, Purdue University; Thomas F. Kuech, University of Wisconsin; Kei May Lau, Hong Kong University of Science & Tech; James L. Merz, University of Notre Dame; Mark S. Miller, University of Utah; Suzanne E. Mohney, Pennsylvania State Univ.; Thomas H. Myers, West Virginia University; Chris J. Palmstrom, University of Minnesota; Lisa M. Porter, Carnegie Mellon University; Laura S. Rea, US Air Force; Joan M. Redwing, Pennsylvania State Univ.; Steven A. Ringel, Ohio State University; Timothy D. Sands, Purdue University; Akio Sasaki, Osaka Electro- Communication University; Ben V. Shanabrook, Naval Research Lab; James S. Speck, University of California; Susanne Stemmer, University of California; Mike A. Tischler, Ocis Tech; Charles W. Tu, University of California; Christian M. Wetzel, Uniroyal Optoelectronics; Jerry M. Woodall, Yale University

INVITED ORGANIZERS
FOR THE 2004 EMC CONFERENCE:

The Electronic Materials Conference wishes to thank the following invited organizers for their support and contribution to the technical program presented at this year’s conference:
Charles Ahn, Yale University; Paul Baude, 3M Company; Shigefusa Chichibu, University of Tsukuba; David Chow, HRL Labs; Russell Dupuis, Georgia Institute of Technology; Kurt Eyink, Air Force Research Lab; Randy Feenstra, Carnegie Mellon University; C. Daniel Frisbie, University of Minnesota; Jacek Furdyna, University of Notre Dame; Ulrich Goesele, Max-Planck-Institute of Microstructure Physics; David Gundlach, ETH-Zurich; Evgeni Gusev, IBM Corp; Douglas Hall, University of Notre Dame; William Hoke, Raytheon Corp; Archie Holmes, University of Texas; Thomas Jackson, Pennsylvania State Univ.; James Kushmerick, Naval Research Lab; Thomas Langdo, Amberwave Systems Corp; Pat Lenahan, Pennsylvania State Univ.; Gregory Lopinski, Steacie Institute for Molecular Sciences; Maria Losurdo, Institute of Inorganic Methodologies and Plasmas; Charles Lutz, Kopin Corp; T.P. Ma, Yale University; Michael Manfra, Bell Labs, Lucent Technology; Peter Moran, Michigan Technological University; Hock Ng, Bell Labs, Lucent Technology; Hou T. Ng, NASA Ames Research Center; Robert Okojie, NASA Glenn Research Center; Sarah Olsen, University of Newcastle- Upon-Tyne; Klaus Ploog, Paul Drude Institute for Solid State Electronics; Vitaly Podzorov, Rutgers University; Ramamoorthy Ramesh, University of Maryland; Alberto Salleo, Palo Alto Research Center; Nitin Samarth, Pennsylvania State Univ.; Darrell Schlom, Pennsylvania State Univ.; Tae-Yeon Seong, Kwangju Institute of Science & Tech; Glenn Solomon, Stanford University; Robert Stahlbush, Naval Research Lab; Raymond Tsui, Motorola; Paul Voyles, University of Wisconsin; Christine Wang, MIT Lincoln Labs; Shalom Wind, Columbia University; Tomasz Wojtowicz, University of Notre Dame; Ya-Hong Xie, University of California

ISSUES FOR WIDE BANDGAP MATERIALS

GROUP III-NITRIDES: GROWTH, PROCESSING, CHARACTERIZATION, THEORY, AND DEVICES
Andrew Allerman
Sandia National Laboratories
Phone: (505) 845-3697 • Fax: (505) 844-3211
E-mail: aaaller@sandia.gov

Russell Dupuis
Georgia Institute of Technology
Phone: (404) 894-2688 • Fax: (404) 894-4641
E-mail: russell.dupuis@ece.gatech.edu

Randy Feenstra
Carnegie Mellon University
Phone: (412) 268-6961 • Fax: (412) 681-0648
E-mail: feenstra@cmu.edu
Michael Manfra
Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies
Phone: (908) 582-1137 • Fax: (908) 582-4868
E-mail: manfra@lucent.com

Thomas Myers
West Virginia University
Phone: (304) 293-3422 x1469
Fax: (304) 293-5732
E-mail: tmyers@wvu.edu

Joan Redwing
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: (814) 865-8665 • Fax: (814) 865-2917
E-mail: jmr31@psu.edu

SILICON CARBIDE: GROWTH, PROCESSING, CHARACTERIZATION, THEORY, AND DEVICES
Michael Capano
Purdue University
Phone: (765) 494-3563 • Fax: (765) 494-9893
E-mail: capano@purdue.edu

Robert Okojie
NASA Glenn Research Center
Phone: (216) 433-6522 • Fax: (216) 433-8643
E-mail: robert.okojie@grc.nasa.gov
Laura Rea
Air Force Research Laboratory
Phone: (937) 255-6316 • Fax: (937) 255-4913
E-mail: laura.rea@wpafb.af.mil

Robert Stahlbush
Naval Research Laboratory
Phone: (202) 767-3357 • Fax: (202) 404-7194
E-mail: stahlbush@nrl.navy.mil

POINT DEFECTS, EXTENDED DEFECTS, AND DOPING IN WIDE BANDGAP MATERIALS
Leonard Brillson
The Ohio State University
Phone: (614) 292-8015 • Fax: (614) 292-596
E-mail: brillson.1@oso.edu

Shigefusa Chichibu
University of Tsukuba
Phone: 011-81-298-535022
Fax: 011-81-298-535205
E-mail: chichibu@bk.tsukuba.ac.jp
James Speck
University of California, Santa Barbara
Phone: (805) 893-8005 • Fax: (805) 893-8983
E-mail: speck@mrl.ucsb.edu

Christian Wetzel
Uniroyal Optoelectronics
Phone: (813) 630-9100 x4429
Fax: (813) 246-5824
E-mail: wetzel@ieee.org

NANOSCALE SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY IN MATERIALS

LOW-DIMENSIONAL STRUCTURES: QUANTUM DOTS, WIRES, AND WELLS
Jim Merz
University of Notre Dame
Phone: (574) 631-3111 • Fax: (574) 631-0651
E-mail: jmerz@nd.edu

Mark Miller
University of Utah
Phone: (801) 587-7718 • Fax: (801) 581-4816
E-mail: mark.miller@ece.utah.edu

Akio Sasaki
Osaka Electro-Communication University
Phone: 011-81-72-824-1131 • Fax: 011-81-72-824-0014
E-mail: c.osaksasaki@isac.ac.jp
Ben Shanabrook
Naval Research Laboratory
Phone: (202) 767-3693 • Fax: (202) 767-1165
E-mail: shanabrook@bloch.nrl.navy.mil

Glenn Solomon
Stanford University
Phone: (650) 725-6910 • Fax: (650) 723-4659
E-mail: solomon@stanford.edu

NANOSCALE CHARACTERIZATION
Rachel Goldman
University of Michigan
Phone: (734) 647-6821 • Fax: (734) 763-4788
E-mail: rsgold@engin.umich.edu

Julia Hsu
Sandia National Laboratories
Phone: (505) 284-1173 • Fax: (505) 844-1197
E-mail: jwhsu@sandia.gov
Edward Yu
University of California, San Diego
Phone: (858) 534-6619 • Fax: (858) 822-3425
E-mail: ety@ece.ucsd.edu

Paul Voyles
University of Wisconsin
Phone: (608) 265-6740 • Fax: (608) 262-8353
E-mail: voyles@engr.wisc.edu

MOLECULAR ELECTRONICS: DEVICES, MATERIALS AND CONTACTS
David Janes
Purdue University
Phone: (765) 494-9263 • Fax: (765) 494-2706
E-mail: janes@ecn.purdue.edu

James Kushmerick
Naval Research Laboratory
Phone: (202) 404-6017 • Fax: (202) 767-9594
E-mail: kushmerick@nrl.navy.mil

Gregory Lopinski
Steacie Institute for Molecular Sciences
Phone: (613) 990-4155 • Fax: (613) 954-8902
E-mail: Gregory.Lopinski@nrc.ca
Theresa Mayer
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: (814) 863-8458 • Fax: (814) 863-8341
E-mail: tsm2@psu.edu

Shalom Wind
Columbia University
Phone: (212) 854-5122 • Fax: (212) 854-1909
E-mail: sw2128@columbia.edu

FLEXIBLE THIN-FILM ELECTRONICS
Paul Baude
3M Company
Phone: (651) 736-4507 • Fax: (651) 733-0648
E-mail: pfbaude@mmm.com

Thomas Jackson
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: (814) 863-8570 • Fax: (814) 865-2798
E-mail: tnj1@psu.edu
Alberto Salleo
Palo Alto Research Center
Phone: (650) 812-5065 • Fax: (650) 812-4105
E-mail: asalleo@parc.com

ORGANIC THIN FILM AND CRYSTALLINE TRANSISTORS: DEVICES, MATERIALS, AND PROCESSING
C. Daniel Frisbie
University of Minnesota
Phone: (612) 625-0779 • Fax: (612) 626-7246
E-mail: frisbie@cems.umn.edu

David Gundlach
ETH-Zurich
Phone: 011-411-633-2278 • Fax: 011-411-633-1072
E-mail: gundlach@phys.ethz.ch
Vitaly Podzorov
Rutgers University
Phone: (732) 445-5011 • Fax: (732) 445-4343
E-mail: podzorov@physics.rutgers.edu

NANOTUBES AND NANOWIRES
Theresa Mayer
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: (814) 863-8458 • Fax: (814) 863-8341
E-mail: tsm2@psu.edu

Hou T. Ng
NASA Ames Research Center
Phone: (650) 604 6146 • Fax: (650) 604 5244
E-mail: hng@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Timothy Sands
Purdue University
Phone: (765) 496-6105 • Fax: (765) 494-1204
E-mail: tsands@purdue.edu

Raymond Tsui
Motorola
Phone: (480) 755-5454 • Fax: (480) 755-5502
E-mail: ray.tsui@motorola.com

CHEMICAL AND BIOLOGICAL SENSORS: MATERIALS, INTERFACES, AND INTEGRATION
Julia Hsu
Sandia National Laboratories
Phone: (505) 284-1173 • Fax: (505) 844-1197
E-mail: jwhsu@sandia.gov

Thomas Kuech
University of Wisconsin
Phone: (608) 263-2922 • Fax: (608) 262-5434
E-mail: kuech@engr.wisc.edu
Laura Rea
Air Force Research Laboratory
Phone: (937) 255-6316 • Fax: (937) 255-4913
E-mail: laura.rea@wpafb.af.mil

ADDITIONAL TOPIC AREAS

CONTACTS TO SEMICONDUCTOR EPILAYERS, NANOWIRES, NANOTUBES, AND ORGANIC FILMS
Suzanne Mohney
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: (814) 863-0744 • Fax: (814) 865-2917
E-mail: mohney@ems.psu.edu

Lisa Porter
Carnegie Mellon University
Phone: (412) 268-4047 • Fax: (412) 268-3113
E-mail: lporter@andrew.cmu.edu
Jerry Woodall
Yale University
Phone: (203) 432-4298 • Fax: (203) 432-6420
E-mail: jerry.woodall@yale.edu

Tae-Yeon Seong
Kwangju Institute of Science & Tech
Phone:011-82-62-970-2308• Fax: 011-82-62-970-2304
E-mail: tyseong @kjist.ac.kr

EPITAXY
April Brown
Duke University
Phone: (919) 660-5442 • Fax: (919) 660-5293
E-mail: abrown@ee.duke.edu

Hock Ng
Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies
Phone: (908) 582-2072 • Fax: (908) 582-2043
E-mail: hmng@lucent.com
Thomas Kuech
University of Wisconsin
Phone: (608) 263-2922 • Fax: (608) 262-5434
E-mail: kuech@engr.wisc.edu

Charles Tu
University of California, San Diego
Phone: (858) 534-4687 • Fax: (858) 822-3427
E-mail: ctu@ece.ucsd.edu

EPITAXY FOR DEVICES
Archie Holmes
University of Texas
Phone: (512) 471-6903 • Fax: (512) 471-8575
E-mail: holmes@mail.utexas.edu

Kei-May Lau
Hong Kong University of Science
and Technology
Phone: 011-852-2358-7049
Fax: 011-852-2358-1485
E-mail: eekmlau@ust.hk
Charles Lutz
Kopin Corporation
Phone: (508) 824-6696 x415
Fax: (508) 824-6418
E-mail: clutz@kopin.com

Michael Tischler
Ocis Technologies
Phone: (602) 317-6249
E-mail: tisch@ocistech.com

EPITAXY: GROWTH, METAMORPHIC, AND TEMPLATES (OTHER AREAS)
Ralph Dawson
University of New Mexico
Phone: (505) 272-7820 • Fax: (505) 272-7801
E-mail: rdawson@chtm.unm.edu

William Hoke
Raytheon Corporation
Phone: (978) 684-8581 • Fax: (978) 684-5345
E-mail: whoke@rrfc.raytheon.com
Steven Ringel
The Ohio State University
Phone: (614) 292-6904 • Fax: (614) 292-9562
E-mail: ringel.5@osu.edu

POINT AND EXTENDED DEFECTS IN MISMATCHED MATERIALS
Eugene Fitzgerald
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Phone: (617) 158-7461 • Fax: (617) 253-3046
E-mail: eafitz@mit.edu

Steven Ringel
The Ohio State University
Phone: (614) 292-6904 • Fax: (614) 292-9562
E-mail: ringel.5@osu.edu
Jerry Woodall
Yale University
Phone: (203) 432-4298 • Fax: (203) 432-6420
E-mail: jerry.woodall@yale.edu

NON-DESTRUCTIVE TESTING AND IN SITU MONITORING/CONTROL
Kurt Eyink
Air Force Research Laboratory
Phone: (937) 656-5710 • Fax: (937) 656-7788
E-mail: kurt.eyink@wpafb.af.mil
Mark Goorsky
University of California, Los Angeles
Phone: (310) 206-0267 • Fax: (310) 206-7353
E-mail: goorsky@seas.ucla.edu

SEMICONDUCTORS: PROCESSING AND OXIDATION
Daniel Dapkus
University of Southern California
Phone: (213) 740-4414 • Fax: (213) 740-6022
E-mail: dapkus@mizar.usc.edu

Douglas Hall
University of Notre Dame
Phone: (574) 631-8631 • Fax: (574) 631-4393
E-mail: dhall@nd.edu
Maria Losurdo
Institute of Inorganic Methodologies
and Plasmas, IMIP-CNR
Phone: 011-39-080-544-3562
Fax: 011-39-080-544-2024
E-mail: cscpml18@area.ba.cnr.it

MATERIALS INTEGRATION: WAFER BONDING AND ALERNATIVE SUBSTRATES
Ulrich Goesele
Max-Planck-Institut of Microstructure Physics
Phone: 011-49-345-5582-657
Fax: 011-49-345-5582-557
E-mail: goesele@mpi-halle.de

Karl Hobart
Naval Research Laboratory
Phone: (202) 404-8542 • Fax: (202) 404-1271
E-mail: karl.hobart@nrl.navy.mil
Thomas Kuech
University of Wisconsin
Phone: (608) 263-2922 • Fax: (608) 262-5434
E-mail: kuech@engr.wisc.edu

Peter Moran
Michigan Technological University
Phone: (906) 487-3095 • Fax: (906) 487-2934
E-mail: pdmoran@mtu.edu

SILICON INTEGRATION: ALTERNATIVE DIELECTRICS, THIN OXIDES, METAL GATES, FERROELECTRICS, AND EPITAXIAL OXIDES
Charles Ahn
Yale University
Phone: (203) 432-6421 • Fax: (203) 432-7044
E-mail: charles.ahn@yale.edu

Evgeni Gusev
IBM Corporation
Phone: (914) 945-1168 • Fax: (914) 945-2141
E-mail: gusev@us.ibm.com

Pat Lenahan
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: (814) 863-4630 • Fax: (814) 863-7967
E-mail: pmlesm@engr.psu.edu

T. P. Ma
Yale University
Phone: (205) 432-4211 • Fax: (205) 432-7769
E-mail: t.ma@yale.edu
Ramamoorthy Ramesh
University of Maryland
Phone: (301) 405-7864 • Fax: (301) 314-7136
E-mail: rr136@umail.umd.edu

Darrell Schlom
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: (814) 863-8579 • Fax: (814) 863-0618
E-mail: schlom@ems.psu.edu

Susanne Stemmer
University of California, Santa Barbara
Phone: (805) 893-6128 • Fax: (805) 893-8502
E-mail: stemmer@mrl.ucsb.edu

Si-BASED HETEROJUNCTIONS AND STRAINED SI: GROWTH, CHARACTERIZATION, AND APPLICATIONS
Eugene Fitzgerald
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Phone: (617) 158-7461 • Fax: (617) 253-3046
E-mail: eafitz@mit.edu

Thomas Langdo
Amberwave Systems Corp.
Phone: (603) 870-8763
Fax: (603) 870-8608
E-mail: tlangdo@amberwave.com

Sarah Olsen
University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Phone: 011-44-191-222-7340
Fax: 011-44-191-222-8180
E-mail: sarah.olsen@ncl.ac.uk
Michael Tischler
Ocis Technologies
Phone: (602) 317-6249
E-mail: tisch@ocistech.com

Ya-Hong Xie
University of California, Los Angeles
Phone: (310) 825-2971 • Fax: (310) 206-7353
E-mail: yhx@ucla.edu

NARROW BANDGAP SEMICONDUCTORS: ANTIMONIDES AND OTHER MATERIALS
Robert Biefeld
Sandia National Laboratories
Phone: (505) 844-1556 • Fax: (505) 844-3211
E-mail: rmbiefe@sandia.gov

David Chow
HRL Laboratories
Phone: (310) 317-5330 • Fax: (310) 317-5483
E-mail: chow@hrl.com
Ralph Dawson
University of New Mexico
Phone: (505) 272-7820 • Fax: (505) 272-7801
E-mail: rdawson@chtm.unm.edu

Christine Wang
MIT Lincoln Laboratories
Phone: (781) 981-4466 • Fax: (781) 981-0122
E-mail: wang@ll.mit.edu

SPIN-DEPENDENT (OR SPINTRONIC) ELECTRONIC MATERIALS
Jacek Furdyna
University of Notre Dame
Phone: (574) 631-6741 • Fax: (574) 631-5952
E-mail: Jacek.K.Furdyna.1@nd.edu

Chris Palmstrom
University of Minnesota
Phone: (612) 625-7558 • Fax: (612) 625-7246
E-mail: palms001@umn.edu
Nitin Samarth
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: (814) 863-0136 • Fax: (253) 484-8667
E-mail: nsamarth@psu.edu

Tomasz Wojtowicz
University of Notre Dame
Phone: (574) 631-8398 • Fax: (574) 631-5952
E-mail: wojtowicz.1@nd.edu

DILUTE NITRIDE SEMICONDUCTORS
Thomas Kuech
University of Wisconsin
Phone: (608) 263-2922 • Fax: (608) 262-5434
E-mail: kuech@engr.wisc.edu

Klaus Ploog
Paul Drude Institute for Solid State Electronics
Phone: 011-49-30-20377-365 • Fax: 011-49-30-20377-201
E-mail: ploog@pdi-berlin.de
Charles Tu
University of California, San Diego
Phone: (858) 534-4687 • Fax: (858) 822-3427
E-mail: ctu@ece.ucsd.edu



The information on this page is maintained by the TMS Meetings Department (mtgserv@tms.org).

Search TMS Meetings Page About TMS TMS OnLine