Fellow Award

This award recognizes members of TMS who are qualified for elevation to the Class of Fellow by reason of outstanding contributions to the practice of metallurgy, materials science, and technology. The award includes a life membership to TMS and is considered a pinnacle award.

For more information on this award and the nomination criteria, view the bylaws.

How to Nominate

Submission Deadline:
April 1 of each year.

Please see the complete Appendix to the bylaws on submission information for each employment class. However, listed below are general guidelines:

The nomination package belonging to a particular class of employment (Academia: A, Government: B, or Industry: C) should include:

  1. Completed award nomination form.
  2. A short CV, no more than 5 pages, that addresses the major selection criteria listed in categories 1 to 4 of the Appendix to the bylaws.
  3. An extended CV (for support information).
  4. A maximum of five letters of recommendation.
  5. Nominator's Supporting Statement: This statement is to be included within the principal nominator’s cover letter of endorsement. The supporting statement should outline the qualifications of the nominee for the specific honor/award. The nominator’s supporting letter should be no more than two pages.

Note: In order to optimize the nomination package and the selection process, the following is essential information and should be included:

  1. Number of publications, and a list of essential publications with comments on how they are essential
  2. Number of patents, and a list of essential patents with comments on how they are essential.
  3. Number of oral and invited presentations, and a list of essential keynote and invited presentations in support of the nominee’s outstanding contribution.
  4. Summary of responsibilities through management for widely known improvements and developments in minerals, metals, or materials science and technology.
  5. Summary of directions of important research or engineering work.

Send complete nomination packet to the TMS Awards & Recognition Specialist.

Current Year Awardee(s)

2017 Fellow Award
Long-Qing Chen
Show Details
2017 Fellow Award
Ke Lu
Show Details
2017 Fellow Award
Gary Was
Show Details
2017 Fellow Award
Yuntian Zhu
Show Details

Past Years Awardees

perhaps a short sentence that introduces what this section is and directs the user to click the button to take action