5th International Congress on 3D Materials Science
(3DMS 2020)

June 28–July 1, 2020 • Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill• Washington, D.C., USA

Submit Abstract
Deadline Extended to November 22, 2019

The 5th International Congress on 3D Materials Science (3DMS 2020) seeks to provide the premier forum for presentations of current interest and significance to the three-dimensional characterization, visualization, quantitative analysis, modeling, and development of structure–property relationships of materials, as well as big data and machine learning issues associated with 3D materials science. Additionally, this congress will provide an intimate environment for rich discussions and interactions among the key researchers in the world to not only assess the state-of-the-art within the various elements of 3D materials science, but also to roadmap the key areas of future research.

For more details on technical topics and abstract submissions, visit the Technical Program page.


Abstract Deadline Extended:
November 22, 2019

Discount Registration Deadline:
May 18, 2020

Housing Deadline:
June 5, 2020

Congress Dates:
June 28–July 1, 2020


Who Will Benefit

The fifth offering of this congress will cover a range of topical areas in 3D materials science, representing the most critical, rapidly growing, innovative subject areas bringing together a wide array of researchers in this arena, including: scientists, engineers, managers, government program officers, professors, and students.

Congress Sponsors and Organizers

This congress is sponsored by the TMS Structural Materials Division (SMD) and the Advanced Characterization, Testing, and Simulation Committee, and is being organized by the following committee of individuals:
Lead Organizer: Dorte Juul Jensen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Programming Chair: Erica Lilleodden, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany
Additional Organizers: Scott Barnett, Northwestern University, USA
Keith Knipling, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Matthew P. Miller, Cornell University, USA
Akira Taniyama, Nippon Steel, Japan
Hiroyuki Toda, Kyushu University, Japan
Lei Zhang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

International Advisory Committee

  • Jonathan Almer, Argonne National Laboratory (USA)
  • Dominique Bernard, Institute of Condensed Matter (France)
  • Annika Borgenstam, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
  • Michel Bornert, École des Ponts ParisTech (France)
  • Timothy Burnett, The University of Manchester (UK)
  • Nikhilesh Chawla, Arizona State University (USA)
  • Veerle Cnudde, Ghent University (Belgium)
  • Stephen Hall, Lund University (Sweden)
  • Hiroshi Jinnai, Tohoku University (Japan)
  • Ricardo Lebensohn, Los Alamos National Laboratory (USA)
  • Javier Llorca, IMDEA Materials (Spain)
  • Emmanuelle Marquis, University of Michigan (USA)
  • Henning Poulsen, Denmark Technical University (Denmark)
  • Simon Ringer, The University of Sydney (Australia)
  • Anthony Rollet, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
  • Luc Salvo, Grenoble INP (France)
  • Ian Sinclair, Southampton University (UK)
  • Tiqiao Xiao, Chinese Academy of Science (China)

Join Our E-mail List

Be the first to know about important updates to this congress, including registration opening and program details. Click the button below and complete the short form if you are interested in receiving e-mail updates from TMS.

Sign Up for Updates

For More Information

For more information about this meeting, please complete the meeting inquiry form or contact:

TMS Meeting Services
5700 Corporate Drive Suite 750
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
U.S. and Canada Only: 1-800-759-4867
Other Countries: 1-724-776-9000, ext. 241
Fax: 1-724-776-3770