TMS Logo

1998 TMS Annual Meeting: Hume-Rothery Award Symposium and Award Presentation

February 15-19 · 1998 TMS ANNUAL MEETING · San Antonio, Texas

San Antonio Logo
The 1998 TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition will take place at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas, February 15-19, 1998.

The Hume-Rothery Award was established in 1972 by the Institute of Metals Division of TMS and recognizes outstanding scholarly contributions to the science of alloys. The award includes an invitation to the recipient to be the honored lecturer at the William Hume-Rothery Memorial Symposium during the TMS Annual Meeting.

"Space is Continuous"

Sponsored by: Jt. EMPMD/SMD Alloy Phases Committee
Presenter: Ryoichi Kikuchi, University of California, Berkeley
Location: Room 104, Convention Center
When: Monday, February 16, 8:30 a.m.

Recipient Photo
Ryoichi Kikuchi is a visiting scholar at the University of California, Berkeley. After earning his Ph.D., Dr. Kikuchi served on the academic staffs of the Institute for the Study of Metals at the University of Chicago, the Armour Research Foundation at the Illinois Institute of Technology, the Department of Materials Science at Wayne State University, the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Washington, and the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of California, Los Angeles. He was also a member of the technical staff at Hughes Research Laboratories.

He has authored or coauthored more than 140 papers on the cluster variation method and the path probability method. He is also a fellow of the Japan Society for Promotion of Science.

The information on this page is maintained by the TMS Customer Service Center (

Search 1998 TMS Annual Meeting Meeting Registration Form About TMS TMS OnLine