Meet the Trustees

Contribute Now

The TMS Foundation Board of Trustees is responsible for the governance and oversight of the TMS Foundation. Meet the individuals who volunteer their time and talents to ensure a bright future for the minerals, metals, and materials professions.


Carl M. Cady
Technical Staff Member,
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Past Chair

Garry W. Warren
Professor Emeritus,
University of Alabama

Executive Committee Representative

Brad Boyce
Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff,
Sandia National Laboratories


Viola Acoff
Associate Dean, 
University of Alabama

Amy J. Clarke
Associate Professor, George S. Ansell Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering,
Colorado School of Mines

David DeYoung
Director of Research & Development (Retired),

James Foley
Scientist/Classification Analyst, Office of Classification,
Los Alamos National Laboratory

John Howarter
Associate Professor of Materials Engineering and Environmental & Ecological Engineering,
Purdue University

Marc A. Meyers
Distinguished Professor of Materials Science,
University of California, Santa Barbara

Ray Peterson
Technology Director,
Real Alloy

Linda Schadler
Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences,
University of Vermont

Robert D. Shull
NIST Fellow (Retired),
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Dan J. Thoma
Director, Grainger Institute for Engineering, and Professor, Materials Science and Engineering,
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Olivia D. Underwood Jackson
Manager, R&D Science and Engineering,
Sandia National Laboratories


James J. Robinson
TMS Executive Director

For questions about the Foundation or for assistance making a donation, please e-mail TMS Foundation staff or call 1-724-776-9000.