Leadership Award

This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the national and international materials community in some aspect of the fields of metallurgy and materials.

Candidates whose technological accomplishments are clearly commercialized and candidates whose technology is in the transfer stage shall be equally eligible for this award.

The award consists of a black marble pinnacle.

Recipients of this award may be eligible for Acta Materialia Gold Medal, AIME Honorary Membership, Fellow, William Hume-Rothery, and IOM/Mehl.

For more information on this award, view the bylaws.


Must demonstrate exceptional leadership in the fields of metallurgy and materials as a representative of an industrial, academic, governmental, or technical organization.

How to Nominate

Submission Deadline:
April 1 of each year.

Please submit the following documents to complete the nomination process:

  1. Completed nomination form.
  2. Nominator's Supporting Statement: This statement is to be included within the principal nominator’s cover letter of endorsement. The supporting statement should outline the qualifications of the nominee for the specific honor/award. The nominator’s supporting letter should be no more than two pages.
  3. Current resume or curriculum vitae, no more than 5 pages.
  4. Two to five letters of endorsement are required. Each letter should be no longer than one page. No more than one letter of endorsement may be from the same affiliation as the nominee.

Send complete nomination packet to TMS Awards.

Current Year Awardee(s)

2024 Leadership Award
Noam Eliaz
Show Details

Past Years Awardees

perhaps a short sentence that introduces what this section is and directs the user to click the button to take action