Diversity in the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Professions 3

July 23–24, 2018 • University of California, Santa Barbara • Santa Barbara, California, USA

“Issues of race, ethnicity and equal opportunity are challenging problems to be sure, however, I see TMS as the foremost organization within our profession that is not only large enough, but also courageous and passionate enough to make a significant impact on the future vector of diversity and inclusion within our field.”
– Jonathan Madison, DMMM3 Chair

Register Today

Discount Registration Deadline: June 18, 2018.


Abstract Submission Deadline:
March 2, 2018

Discount Registration Deadline:
June 18, 2018

Housing Deadline:
The Club & Guest House
June, 10, 2018

The Goodland
June 18, 2018

Conference Dates:
July 23–24, 2018




The first two summits in the Diversity in the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Professions (DMMM) series opened the conversation and identified the challenges to a more diverse and inclusive professional community.

Establishing a clear path to meaningful engagement and tangible action is the focus of the third summit, DMMM3.

Join us at DMMM3 for a solutions-driven program built on the following concepts:
  • Engaging participants on the most recent social-science findings in the areas of diversity and inclusion while exploring current issues and potential solutions.
  • Measuring progress and ensuring positive outcomes for all through the establishment of well informed and proactive measures and metrics.
  • Transforming the professional community by implementing changes in workplace cultures and policies.

Prepare now to contribute as a DMMM3 participant. Review the online TMS Diversity and Inclusion Toolkit—a collection of insights and recommendations generated by the first Diversity in the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Professions (DMMM1) summit, with new resources added since then.

Summit Sponsors and Organizers

This summit is co-sponsored by the TMS Diversity Committee and The Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration.

It is being organized by the following individuals:
Chair: Jonathan Madison, Sandia National Laboratories
Co-Chairs: Jennifer Andrew, University of Florida
Megan Brewster, Launch Forth, a division of Local Motors
Amy Clarke, Colorado School of Mines
Kristen Constant, Iowa State University
Oscar Dubón, University of California, Berkeley
Emily Kinser, IBM
Matthew Korey, Purdue University
Natalie Larson, University of California, Santa Barbara
Xavier Ochoa, McEwen Mining Inc.
Michael Rawlings, AAAS Fellow at the National Science Foundation 
Rosa Maria Rojas, University of Arizona

Abstract Submission

Submit an Abstract

Abstracts are due March 2, 2018.

For more information on programming and abstract submissions, visit the Programming page.

For More Information

For more information about this meeting, please complete the meeting inquiry form or contact:

TMS Meeting Services
5700 Corporate Drive Suite 750
Pittsburgh, PA 15237

     U.S. and Canada Only: 1-800-759-4867 
     Other Countries: 1-724-776-9000, ext. 241 
Fax: 1-724-776-3770 
E-mail: mtgserv@tms.org