TMS Logo

AIME/TMS Banquet & Awards Presentation

March 12–16 · 2000 TMS ANNUAL MEETING · Nashville, Tennessee

During the week of March 12-16, 2000, the 129th Annual Meeting & Exhibition of The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS), will be held in Nashville, Tennessee at the Opryland Hotel and Convention Center.

The combined American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME)/TMS Annual Dinner and Awards Presentations will be held at 7:00 p.m. Monday, March 13, 2000, at the Opryland Hotel, Presidential Ballroom-Washington/Adams. This highlight of the AIME/TMS Annual Meeting will begin with a cash bar reception at 6:00 p.m. and dinner at 7:00 p.m. in the Presidential Ballroom. Dark business suits are appropriate attire for the gentlemen.

Prior to the Banquet . . .

1999 TMS President J. Wayne Jones will present the TMS awards and then introduce Y. Austin Chang as the 2000 President of the Society.

J. Wayne Jones
1999 TMS President
Y. Austin Chang
2000 TMS President
Y. Austin Chang is a distinguished professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Wisconsin at Madison. He received his B.S. in chemical engineering from the University of Washington at Seattle and his PH.D. in metallurgy from the University of California at Berkeley. Dr. Chang joined the faculty of the Materials Department at the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee in 1967. In 1980 he joined the faculty of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Wisconsin at Madison. He has received many honors and awards including the TMS William-Hume Rothery Award (1989), Educator Award (1990), Extraction & Processing Award (1993), and Champion H. Mathewson Medal (1996). He is also a TMS fellow. Dr. Chang is very active in the materials community, and he served as honors and professional recognition director for TMS from 1996 through 1998.

Following Dinner . . .

Paul G. Campbell
1999 AIME President
Robert E. Murray
2000 AIME President
1999 AIME President Paul G. Campbell will serve as master of ceremonies for presentation of AIME's major awards. The presentations will be followed by a short address by incoming 2000 AIME President Robert E. Murray.

Robert E. Murray is president, chief executive officer, and owner of the Ohio Valley Coal Company, Maple Creek Mining, Inc., Energy Resources, Inc., American Coal Sales Company, Powhatan Transportation Center, West Virginia Resources, Inc., Oneida Coal Company, Inc., and MonValley Transportation Center, Inc. Mr. Murray is also a passive investor in Ken American Resources, Inc. He served in most supervisory and executive positions with North American Coal Corporation between 1956 and 1987, including president and chief executive officer. He is a graduate in mining engineering from Ohio State University and of Harvard University's Advanced Management Program. He is a past president and director of the Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration, Inc. He is a director of the National Mining Association and National Coal Association and the Pennsylvania and Ohio Coal Associations.


Fellow Class of 2000
Reza Abbaschian, University of Florida
Robert Cahn, University of Cambridge
Lionel Kimerling, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Subra Surash, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jeff Wadsworth, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

John Bardeen Award
Y. Austin Chang, University of Wisconsin

Educator Award
Richard Hertzberg, Lehigh University

William Hume-Rothery Award
Armen Khachaturyan, Rutgers University

Leadership Award
Yoshio Wasida, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan

Application to Practice Award
Dwaine Klarstrom, Haynes International

Bruce Chalmers Award
Angus Hellawell, Michigan Technological University

Robert Lansing Hardy Award
Oscar Dubon, Harvard University

Institute of Metals Lecturer & Robert F. Mehl Medalist
Robert Rapp, The Ohio State University

Champion H. Mathewson Award
Gary Was, University of Michigan

The information on this page is maintained by the TMS Meetings Department (

Search Conference Management System 2000 Annual Meeting Meetings Page TMS OnLine