Meeting Resources

Materials in Nuclear Energy Systems (MiNES) 2021

September 19-23, 2021 • Omni William Penn Hotel • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Submit an Abstract
Abstract Submission Deadline: April 2, 2021

MiNES first met in 2019 to serve the fission reactor materials community that grew out of biannual symposia held at the TMS annual meeting (Microstructure Processes in Irradiated Materials – MPIM) and the American Nuclear Society (ANS) annual meeting (Nuclear Fuel and Structural Materials – NFSM). Discussions previously explored at MPIM and NFSM are now part of the MiNES forum and include the following topics:

  • Irradiation Damage
  • Irradiated Microstructures
  • Mechanical Properties of Irradiated Materials
  • Radiation Effects Simulation & Evaluation Techniques
  • Integrated Phenomena in Reactor Materials
  • Advanced Alloys and Materials for Nuclear Systems
  • Advanced Fuels & Actinide Materials
  • Nuclear Fuel Cycles

MiNES will be held biannually in the autumn season with the second installment to be held September 19-23, 2021 in Pittsburgh, PA, USA. ANS and TMS alternate sponsorship of the conference and assist an organizing committee headed by three conference chairs in planning the content and venue for each meeting. While held in the U.S., the organizers of MiNES strongly encourage international participation.


Abstract Deadline:
April 2, 2021

Discount Registration Deadline:
August  6, 2021

Housing Deadline:
August 27, 2021

Congress Dates:
September 19-23, 2021

You Might Also Be Interested In

Join Our E-mail List

Be the first to know about important updates to this conference, including housing details and programming deadlines. Click the button below and complete the short form if you are interested in receiving e-mail updates about MiNES 2021.

Sign Up for Updates

Congress Sponsors and Organizers

MiNES 2021 is sponsored by the Structural Materials Division and the Nuclear Materials Committee, and is being organized by the following individuals:

General Chair Todd Allen
University of Michigan, USA
Technical Chair Clarissa Yablinsky
Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
Assistant Technical Chair Anne Campbell
Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Additional Organizers Janelle Wharry
Purdue University (2019 General Chair), USA

For More Information

For more information about this meeting, please complete the meeting inquiry form or contact:

TMS Meeting Services
5700 Corporate Drive Suite 750
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
U.S. and Canada Only: 1-800-759-4867
Other Countries: 1–724–776–9000, ext. 241
Fax: 1-724-776-3770