The TMS Board of Directors is made up of minerals, metals, and materials scientists and engineers who are respected in their professions and elected by their peers to serve the Society. Meet the current TMS Board members who are helping the Society fulfill its mission and setting the course for future endeavors.

Kevin Hemker
TMS President
Professor and Chair, Johns Hopkins University
Term: 03/15/2018 - 03/14/2019
David DeYoung
TMS Past President
Director of R&D, Breakthrough Technology, Alcoa Technical Center
Term: 03/15/2018 - 03/14/2019
James Foley
TMS Vice President
Sigma-1 Group Leader, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Term: 03/15/2018 - 03/14/2019
Adrian Deneys
TMS Financial Planning Officer
Business Development Manager, Praxair Inc
Term: 03/15/2018 - 03/18/2021
James Robinson
TMS Secretary/Executive Director
Executive Director, TMS
Term: 05/29/2012 - 03/31/9999
Cynthia Belt
TMS Director/Chair, Extraction & Processing Division
Energy Management Consultant, Metals Energy Management LLC
Term: 03/02/2017 - 02/27/2020
Raymundo Arroyave
TMS Director/Chair, Functional Materials Division
Professor, Texas A&M University
Term: 03/02/2017 - 02/27/2020
Chester Van Tyne
TMS Director, Professional Development
Professor Emeritus, Colorado School of Mines
Term: 03/02/2017 - 02/27/2020
Michele Manuel
TMS Director/Chair, Content Development & Dissemination
Professor, University of Florida
Term: 03/02/2017 - 02/27/2020
Corbett Battaile
TMS Director/Chair, Materials Processing & Manufacturing Division
Principal Member, Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories
Term: 02/17/2016 - 03/14/2019
Amy Clarke
TMS Director/Chair, Membership & Student Development
Associate Professor, Colorado School of Mines
Term: 02/01/2015 - 03/14/2019
Ellen Cerreta
TMS Director/Chair, Structural Materials Division
Deputy Division Leader, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Term: 02/17/2016 - 03/14/2019
Brad Boyce
TMS Director/Chair, Programming
Senior Member for the Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories
Term: 03/15/2018 - 03/18/2021
Alan Luo
TMS Director/Chair, Light Metals Division
Professor & Director, Ohio State University
Term: 02/17/2016 - 03/14/2019
John Howarter
TMS Director/Chair, Public & Governmental Affairs
Assistant Professor, Purdue University
Term: 03/02/2017 - 02/27/2020

Past TMS Presidents

View the photo gallery of Past TMS Presidents from 1957 to the present.

For More Information

For more information on TMS volunteer leaders, visit the Divisions & Committees pages or contact