2002 TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition: 131st TMS Banquet & Awards Presentation

February 17–21 · 2002 TMS ANNUAL MEETING · Seattle, Washington



With Installation of 2002 TMS President

Wayne R. Hale
2001 TMS President

John E. Allison
2002 TMS President

The TMS Banquet and Awards Presentations will be held at 7:00 pm Tuesday, February 19, 2002 at the Sheraton Seattle Hotel and Towers. The highlight of the 131st TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition will begin with a cash bar reception at 6:00 pm and dinner at 7:00 pm. Dark business suits are appropriate attire for the gentlemen.

Following dinner, 2001 TMS President Wayne R. Hale will present the TMS awards. The presentations will be followed by a short address by incoming 2002 President John E. Allison.

John E. Allison is a Senior Staff Technical Specialist in the Materials Science Department at Ford Motor Company in Dearborn, Michigan. He has been been a contributing member of TMS for over twenty years, serving TMS in a number of capacities, notably on the TMS Board as Director of Programming and more recently in a leadership capacity with the Structural Materials Division. His professional position with the Research Laboratory of Ford Motor Company has given him broad international exposure to the materials community from primary metals producers to key automotive suppliers. He has also served on the Nominating Committee and the Student Affairs Committee.

Banquet tickets are $60 and may be purchased at the TMS Conference Registration desk.


Fellow Class of 2002
Gary R. Purdy, McMaster University
Ricardo B. Schwartz, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Changxu Shi, Natural Science Foundation of China
Edgar A. Starke, Jr., University of Virginia
Man H. Yoo, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

John Bardeen Award
John Poate, Axcelis Technologies, Inc.

Educator Award
Alan Lawley, Drexel University

William Hume-Rothery Award
Larry Kaufman, Lecturer/Consultant

Leadership Award
Robert L. Snyder, The Ohio State University

Application to Practice Award
Michael F. X. Gigliotti, General Electric Corporation

Bruce Chalmers Award
Michel Rappaz, Ecole Polytechnic Federale

Distinguished Service Award
Joseph D. Defilippi, United States Steel

Robert Lansing Hardy Award
Paul V. Braun, University of Illinois

Institute of Metals Lecturer & Robert F. Mehl Medalist
Frans Spaepen, Harvard University

Champion H. Mathewson Award
Man H. Yoo, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Chong-Long Fu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory


Aluminum Distinguished Service Award
James W. Evans, University of California-Berkeley

Extractive Processing Lecturer
Ramana G. Reddy, The University of Alabama

Extractive Processing Science Award
H. Hayashi, Nippon Steel
A. Becker, University of California
James W. Evans, University of California

Extractive Processing Technology Award
C.F.M. Copini, Budel Zink
G.H.R. Janssen, Paques BV
C.J.N. Buisman, Paques BV
S. Vellinga, Paques BV

Light Metals Technical Service Award
Christian Bickert, Pechiney Group

Light Metals Award
Steven P. Rosenberg, Worsley Alumina Pty Ltd
Carrel J. Wilson, Worsley Alumina Pty Ltd
Catherine A. Heath, Worsley Alumina Pty Ltd

Structural Materials Distinguished Science/Engineer Award
George T. (Rusty) Gray, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Structural Materials Distinguished Service Award
Stephen M. Bruemmer, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory


The information on this page is maintained by the TMS Meetings Department (

Search 2002 TMS Annual Meeting Conference Management System TMS Meetings Page TMS OnLine