Established Professionals

Contribute Now

Publicly recognizing the talent and achievements of established professionals can help to boost their prestige in the field and support them in reaching their full potential. To achieve these goals, the TMS Foundation supports the following award programs through generous contributions:

Ellen Swallow Richards Diversity Award

The TMS Foundation is committed to the development of a more diverse and inclusive professional community through programs like the Ellen Swallow Richards Diversity Award. By acknowledging individuals who have helped or inspired others to overcome personal, professional, educational, cultural, or institutional adversity to pursue a career in our field, this award highlights the importance of diversity within the minerals, metals, and materials professions.

Discover more about this award and past recipients on the dedicated award page.

Frank Crossley Diversity Award

This award recognizes an individual who reflects the remarkable pioneering spirit of Frank Crossley by personally overcoming personal, professional, educational, cultural, or institutional adversity to pursue a career in minerals, metals, and/or materials. In celebrating this spirit of perseverance this award seeks to inspire others to do the same.

Learn about the Frank Crossley Diversity Award.

Julia and Johannes Weertman Educator Award

In recognizing an individual who has made outstanding contributions to education in metallurgical engineering and/or materials science and engineering, this award encourages similar dedication in others to building up the next generation of professionals.

Visit the dedicated award page for more information.

Nagy El-Kaddah Award for Best Paper in MHD in Material Processing

Established to honor the memory of Professor Nagy El-Kaddah for his contributions in the field of material processing, this award recognizes original contributions to the field of “MHD in Material Processing.” It also provides the opportunity for the paper to be shared with the larger community through publication in the reputable Metallurgical and Materials Transactions B.

Learn more about this award.

Oleg D. Sherby Award

Advances in research drive progress in the field. As such, this award recognizes an individual, or small group of collaborators, for significant contributions to the understanding of the behavior of materials at high temperatures.

Find out more on the Oleg D. Sherby Award page.

Sadoway Materials Innovation and Advocacy Award

This award recognizes a mid-career individual with impactful and broad materials science and engineering achievements and a unique ability at championing their work and the materials science and engineering field through education, public advocacy, or entrepreneurship. Established to honor the achievements and legacy of Donald R. Sadoway.

Learn more on the Sadoway Award page.

William D. Nix Award

In order to promote continued progress and innovation, this award acknowledges individuals with an established record of research, publications, and/or patents in the field of mechanical behavior. Award recipients must also present a lecture at the TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition, ensuring that their expertise and insights are shared with others.

Learn more on the William D. Nix Award page.