Julia and Johannes Weertman Educator Award

The Julia & Johannes Weertman Educator Award recognizes a higher caliber individual who has made outstanding contributions to education in metallurgical engineering and/or materials science and engineering.

This award is endowed by colleagues and friends of Julia and Hans Weertman, as well as the department of materials science and engineering and the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Northwestern University.

Drs. Julia and Johannes Weertman have accomplished, both individually and jointly, a very rare feat: (a) they rose to prominence in Materials Science and Engineering through their pioneering research accomplishments which have profound effects on technology; (b) they were instrumental in the emergence of materials science and engineering as a new discipline; (c) as a couple, they developed a rare synergy, a unique phenomenon in our field and an example for the younger generations.

The recipient of the Julia & Johannes Weertman Educator Award will receive an award piece, a registration waiver to attend the TMS Annual Meeting, and a $1,500 travel stipend to travel to the TMS Annual Meeting.

Recipients of this award may be eligible for Acta Materialia Gold Medal, AIME Honorary Membership, Fellow, William Hume-Rothery, and IOM/Mehl.

NOTE: The TMS Educator Award was renamed the Julia and Johannes Weertman Educator Award, starting with the 2018 award. The selection criteria for the award remains the same.

Award recipients must travel to and attend the conference in order to receive the travel funds associated with this award.

For more information on this award, view the bylaws.


  1. Candidate must have demonstrated contributions to education in metallurgical engineering and/or materials science and engineering.
  2. Not limited to classroom teachers; also recognizes contributions through writing of textbooks, building of strong academic programs, outreach to high school students, or innovative ways of educating the general populace.
  3. Nominations should provide evidence that the individual has a scholarly legacy that transcends their own institution(s), with a broader impact on developing the intellectual foundation for the broader and evolving TMS community.

How to Nominate

Submission Deadline:
April 1 of each year.

Please submit the following documents to complete the nomination process:

  1. Completed nomination form.
  2. Nominator's Supporting Statement: This statement is to be included within the principal nominator’s cover letter of endorsement. The supporting statement should outline the qualifications of the nominee for the specific honor/award. The nominator’s supporting letter should be no more than two pages.
  3. Current resume or curriculum vitae, no more than 5 pages, with publication list, educational contributions, and students mentored.
  4. A minimum of two, maximum of five, letters of endorsement. Each letter should be no longer than one page. No more than one letter of endorsement may be from the same affiliation as the nominee. The nominator’s letter may be counted in the total number required.

Send complete nomination packet to TMS Awards.

Current Year Awardee(s)

2024 Julia and Johannes Weertman Educator Award
Kannan Krishnan
Show Details

Past Years Awardees

perhaps a short sentence that introduces what this section is and directs the user to click the button to take action