Sadoway Materials Innovation and Advocacy Award

This award is currently under development. Donations to establish this award fund are being accepted through the TMS Foundation as the Sadoway Materials Innovation and Advocacy Award Fund.

This award is being established for the following purposes:

  • To recognize a mid-career individual with impactful and broad materials science and engineering achievements and a unique ability at championing of their work and the materials science and engineering field through education, public advocacy, or entrepreneurship, particularly in areas related to sustainability.
  • To foster the participation of TMS members in public advocacy for sustainable materials solutions
  • To honor and recognize the innovative achievements of Donald R. Sadoway in materials science, his commitment to sustainable solutions in materials processing, and his legacy of teaching and advocacy in public forums.

Donald R. Sadoway is the John F. Elliott Professor of Materials Chemistry in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, having joined the MIT faculty in 1978. The author of over 170 scientific papers and inventor on 32 U.S. patents, his research is on environmentally sound metals extraction technologies and on batteries for grid-scale storage and for electric vehicles.

The award recipient will receive $5,000 along with an award piece at the TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition. The first recipient is intended to be awarded in 2021.

The selection criteria and methodology will be based on established TMS society awards.


  1. Must have an established record of innovative achievements in material science of innovations that use and/or involve materials science as a core enabler. Record can be demonstrated by publications, influence of public policy, technical leadership, or entrepreneurship.
  2. Must have a record of outstanding communications as evidenced by teaching, public advocacy, or entrepreneurship.
  3. Must be a current professional member of TMS and have been a member for at least three consecutive years.
  4. May not reach his/her 50th birthday by December 31 of the year in which the initial nomination is made.

How to Nominate

Submission Deadline:
April 1 of each year.

Nominations are not being accepted at this time.
Details on the nomination process will be available once the award is fully funded.