DateTuesday, February 16, 2016
LocationDavidson Ballroom, Level 1M, Music City Center
Reception 6:00 p.m.
Awards Ceremony Seating Begins6:30 p.m.
Dinner7:45 p.m.
EntertainmentTo follow dinner

Please Note: The ceremony portion of the evening is open to all TMS2016 attendees; no advance registration is necessary. Tickets may be purchased for $95 through the TMS2016 registration form for the dinner.
Recognizing Excellence in Minerals, Metals, and Materials

The 2016 TMS-AIME Awards Ceremony and Banquet will be an elegant event, designed to honor the significant professional achievements of members of the minerals, metals, and materials communities. The ceremony includes presentations of awards from both TMS and the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME), of which TMS is a member society. Additional awards, including two from Acta Materialia, will also be presented to TMS members during this ceremony.

The evening will consist of three parts. First, award recipients and their guests will be welcomed at a cocktail reception. Following the reception, participants will be seated for the awards ceremony, where individual recipients will be honored for their accomplishments. A photographer will be on hand to capture these moments. After the ceremony, those participants who have purchased banquet tickets will proceed to the adjacent ballroom for an elegant dinner and live music entertainment.
Featured Speakers

Traditionally, the TMS-AIME Awards Ceremony features addresses from the current and future TMS presidents. This year’s ceremony will feature presentations from 2015 TMS President Patrice Turchi and 2016 President Stanley Howard.

Patrice E.A. Turchi is a distinguished member of the technical staff and group leader in the Materials Science Division of the Physical and Life Sciences Directorate at the U.S. Department of Energy's Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. He has been an active member of TMS for more than 25 years and has served as chair of the Alloy Phases Committee and other various committees (programming, and several award committees); chair of the former Electronic, Magnetic & Photonic Materials Division (now the Functional Materials Division); and TMS board member. He has also been a member of several TMS technical advisory groups and a recent contributor to several TMS reports.
Stanley M. Howard is Professor of Materials and Metallurgical Engineering at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, has served on the TMS Executive Board and the TMS Board of Directors as the Financial Planning Officer, and currently serves on the TMS Foundation Board of Trustees. TMS has been Howard's professional society home throughout his career, and he has served TMS on many committees including Nominating, Professional Registration, Audit, Retirement, Waste Minimization and Recycling, Education, Physical Chemistry of Extractive Processes, Student Affairs, and EPD Publications. He has presented at TMS Annual Meetings and short courses, served as key reader for and published in Metallurgical and Materials Transactions journals, and co-chaired many technical sessions.

Following dinner, attendees will be treated to a performance by Jon Randall and Jessi Alexander, a pair of singer/songwriters from Nashville, Tennessee.

Jon Randall earned a Grammy award as part of Emmylou Harris’s band, the Nash Ramblers, and has since released four studio albums. As a songwriter, Randall has had songs cut by some of Nashville’s top artists including Brad Paisley and Alison Krauss who recorded the Grammy-nominated song "Whiskey Lullaby" in 2005. He’s also had songs cut by Gary Allan ("She’s So California"), Reba McEntire and Don Henley ("Break Each Other’s Hearts Again"), Kenny Chesney ("Demons"), and The Lost Trailers ("All This Love"). Randall also produced Dierks Bentley’s 2010 Grammy-nominated album Up on the Ridge. Randall has toured and recorded for Lyle Lovett, Patty Loveless, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Trisha Yearwood, Earl Scruggs, and Kid Rock among others. He recently co-wrote the two-week No. 1 "Drink on It" for Blake Shelton and "Am I the Only One" for Dierks Bentley.

Jessi Alexander released her debut album, Honeysuckle Sweet, in 2005. Today, she is one of Nashville’s most prolific and successful songwriters. She has continued to dominate the charts with cuts including Reba McEntire’s "When Love Gets A Hold Of You" and Blake Shelton’s hits "Drink On It" (which spent two weeks at #1) and "Mine Would Be You" (which spent three weeks at #1). Lee Brice’s "I Drive Your Truck" was a mainstay at awards shows in 2013-2014: It earned her the Country Music Association Award for Song Of The Year and the Nashville Songwriter Association International Award for Song Of The Year, as well as the Academy of Country Music Award for Song Of The Year in 2014. The ballad was also nominated for 2014’s Grammy for Country Song Of The Year alongside Shelton’s "Mine Would Be You," scoring her a second nomination for Grammy Country Song of The Year, as well as an Academy of Country Music Song Of The Year nomination.

Learn more about the artists.

How to Attend

All TMS Annual Meeting attendees are welcome to join us for the ceremony portion of the evening to support friends and colleagues receiving awards and to help us honor the award recipients’ accomplishments.

To attend the dinner portion of the evening, however, you must purchase tickets in advance through the TMS2016 registration form. Tickets are $95 per person and include admission to the cocktail reception, awards presentations, and three-course dinner with wine and dessert. All venues are fully accessible for handicapped guests.

Email TMS AltaVista Babelfish Terms of Use Meeting Inquiry Form
TMS2016 Home TMS2016 Home TMS Home