Eric Brown
TMS Director/Chair, Public & Governmental Affairs
Executive Advisor, Los Alamos National Laboratory
02/28/2020 - 03/31/2023

Eric N. Brown is the division leader for the Explosive Science and Shock Physics Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL), where he oversees the research program on energetic materials and dynamic material response in support of national security. His research has spanned fracture and damage of complex heterogeneous polymers and polymer composites for energetic, reactive, and structural applications, including crystalline phase transitions, plasticity, dynamic loading conditions, and self-healing materials. Brown was a Director's Postdoctoral Fellow and technical staff member in the Materials Science and Technology Division at LANL, technical advisor for the Joint U.S. Department of Defense/Department of Energy Munitions Technology Program in the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense, and managed the Neutron Science and Technology Group in the Los Alamos Physics Division.

Brown is currently the vice chair of the TMS Public and Governmental Affairs Committee. He has participated in the TMS Mechanical Behavior of Materials Committee since 2006, served as the vice chair of the Content Development & Dissemination Committee (CDDC) from 2011 to 2014, and as the director/chair of the CDDC on the TMS Board of Directors from 2014 to 2017. He has been a key reader for Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A since 2007 and is the founding editor-in-chief of the Journal of Dynamic Behavior of Materials. He received the TMS Structural Materials Division Young Leaders Professional Development Award in 2007 and the TMS Brimacombe Medal in 2017, as well as awards from the American Society for Composites, U.S. Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration, LANL, Materials Research Society, Society for Experimental Mechanics, and the University of Illinois.

He received a B.S. in mechanical engineering in 1998 and a Ph.D. in theoretical and applied mechanics in 2003, both from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.