Ellen Swallow Richards Diversity Award

This award recognizes an individual who, in the remarkable pioneering spirit of Ellen Swallow Richards, has helped or inspired others to overcome personal, professional, educational, cultural, or institutional adversity to pursue a career in minerals, metals, and/or materials.

The award honors Ellen Swallow Richards, the first U.S. professional degreed female scientist, the first woman admitted to MIT, and the first female member of TMS’ antecedent organization, AIME. She was a metallurgist and is widely recognized as the founder of the field “ecology.”

Sponsored by Jeffery Wadsworth and Geraldine McCulley Wadsworth.

The award shall consist of an award piece and travel assistance of up to $500 if requested by the recipient to assure that he/she can attend the award ceremony. Award recipients must travel to and attend the conference in order to receive the travel funds associated with this award. The recipient will also be given a $1,500 cash prize.

For more information on this award, view the bylaws.


The recipient should be recognized as professionally accomplished or promising of professional accomplishment within the minerals, metals, and materials community.

How to Nominate

Submission Deadline:
April 1st of each year.

Please submit the following documents to complete the nomination process:

  1. Completed nomination form.
  2. Nominator's Supporting Statement: This statement is to be included within the principal nominator’s cover letter of endorsement. The supporting statement should outline the qualifications of the nominee for the specific honor/award. The nominator’s supporting letter should be no more than two pages.
  3. Current resume or curriculum vitae, no more than 5 pages.
  4. A minimum of two, maximum of five, letters of endorsement. Each letter should be no longer than one page. No more than one letter of endorsement may be from the same affiliation as the nominee. The nominator’s letter may be counted in the total number required.

Send complete nomination packet to TMS Awards.

Current Year Awardee(s)

2024 Ellen Swallow Richards Diversity Award
Andrea Hodge
Show Details

Past Years Awardees

perhaps a short sentence that introduces what this section is and directs the user to click the button to take action