Frank Crossley Diversity Award

This award recognizes an individual who has personally overcome personal, professional, educational, cultural, or institutional adversity to pursue a career in minerals, metals, and/or materials.

Its namesake, Frank Crossley was a TMS/AIME member whose accomplishments had a significant technical impact in his field (notably titanium and aerospace) and, as the first African American to earn a Ph.D. in metallurgical engineering, his non-technical achievements were equally inspiring, paving the way for many others to follow.

The recipient of the Frank Crossley Diversity Award will be given an award piece along with a $1,500 cash prize. The award shall also include travel assistance of up to $500 if requested by the recipient to assure that he/she can attend the award ceremony. Award recipients must travel to and attend the conference in order to receive the travel funds associated with this award.

Sponsored by Jeffery Wadsworth and Geraldine McCulley Wadsworth.

For more information on this award, view the bylaws.


The recipient should be recognized as professionally accomplished or promising of professional accomplishment within the minerals, metals, and materials community.

How to Nominate

Submission Deadline:
April 1 of each year.

Please submit the following documents to complete the nomination process:

  1. Completed nomination form.
  2. Nominator's Supporting Statement: This statement is to be included within the principal nominator’s cover letter of endorsement. The supporting statement should outline the qualifications of the nominee for the specific honor/award. The nominator’s supporting letter should be no more than two pages.
  3. Current resume or curriculum vitae, no more than 5 pages.
  4. A minimum of two, maximum of five, letters of endorsement. Each letter should be no longer than one page. No more than one letter of endorsement may be from the same affiliation as the nominee. The nominator’s letter may be counted in the total number required.

Send complete nomination packet to TMS Awards.

Current Year Awardee(s)

2024 Frank Crossley Diversity Award
Jonathan Madison
Show Details

Past Years Awardees

perhaps a short sentence that introduces what this section is and directs the user to click the button to take action